I Need Humidity!

Kungur
Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Thu. Sep. 25, 2008 7:09 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: K-2
Location: Chardon,Ohio

Post Thu. Dec. 16, 2010 2:44 pm

I have my radiant floor heat up and running with my KA-2 boiler. But I have been watching the humidity in the house and it is about 20%. I am wondering if I can add a humidifier to my forced air gas furnace, now semi-retired, and run it without the burner to humidifier the house?
Thoughts??


User avatar
North Candlewood
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun. Dec. 09, 2007 9:00 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Eshland S-130
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 120
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Clayton 1602
Baseburners & Antiques: Princess Atlantic Cookstove
Coal Size/Type: Nut Rice
Location: Ct

Post Thu. Dec. 16, 2010 3:48 pm


User avatar
poconoman
Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue. Oct. 27, 2009 5:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hyfire II
Location: Pocono Lake, PA

Post Thu. Dec. 16, 2010 3:52 pm

You can add a whole house humidifier to the gas furnace like an Aprilaire BUT the furnace has to run because you need HEAT to evaporate the water.

Look at my vid "Hyfire II burning". You'll see the Aprilaire on the gas furnace BUT the heat is coming from the Hyfire, therefore the heat will evaporate the water.

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9903
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Thu. Dec. 16, 2010 7:13 pm

poconoman wrote:You can add a whole house humidifier to the gas furnace like an Aprilaire BUT the furnace has to run because you need HEAT to evaporate the water.
You do not need heat.

User avatar
jeromemsn
Member
Posts: 1088
Joined: Thu. Oct. 04, 2007 12:30 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker 90 dvc
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman elite fireplace insert
Location: Edwardsburg, Mi. 49112

Post Thu. Dec. 16, 2010 7:22 pm

I have a SunBeam Humidifier, well Holmes. you can buy it at Walmart. Biggest one they have made by SunBeam. Works well and keeps the air moist. I have to fill it twice a day just like the coal stove. Has a lot of different settings on it, and easy to use and fill.
Attachments
SunBeam Humidifier.jpg

bellboy
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue. Nov. 02, 2010 5:48 am
Stove/Furnace Make: axeman anderson
Stove/Furnace Model: 130

Post Thu. Dec. 16, 2010 7:53 pm

We use small humidifiers in a few of the rooms in the house and can generally keep the humidity level up. I looked into the system for hot air furnaces and it seemed like a lot of trouble, some people have too much moisture and end up with mold issues. I'm sure if the system is maintained it works OK. I try to heat with our wood stove and not run our oil burner more than I must. I have a washline in the basement to dry some of our clothes, and always have an old pressure cooker (no lid) full of water on top of the stove.

User avatar
SMITTY
Member
Posts: 11912
Joined: Sun. Dec. 11, 2005 12:43 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Patriot Coal - (custom built by Jim Dorsey, Taunton MA - RIP 4/18/13)
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III (SOLD!)
Coal Size/Type: Rice / Blaschak anthracite
Other Heating: Oil fired Burnham boiler
Location: West-Central Mass

Post Thu. Dec. 16, 2010 8:55 pm

Humidity? You can buy my house if you want ... :lol:

User avatar
AA130FIREMAN
Member
Posts: 1951
Joined: Sat. Feb. 28, 2009 4:13 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: axeman anderson
Stove/Furnace Model: 130 anthratube

Post Thu. Dec. 16, 2010 9:01 pm

If you have an electric cloths dryer, this may help and save the heat to boot.
**Broken Link(s) Removed**


User avatar
Townsend
Member
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue. Nov. 21, 2006 7:38 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Coal Size/Type: Pea / Buck
Location: Connecticut

Post Thu. Dec. 16, 2010 10:21 pm

Smitty, why don't you stock it with trout down there? Load up the stove, cast a line and bring home (I mean bring upstairs) a nice rainbow or brown trout!
Attachments
IMG_0896.jpg

User avatar
Yanche
Member
Posts: 3030
Joined: Fri. Dec. 23, 2005 12:45 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Alternate Heating Systems S-130
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Pea
Location: Sykesville, Maryland

Post Thu. Dec. 16, 2010 11:31 pm

coaledsweat wrote:
poconoman wrote:You can add a whole house humidifier to the gas furnace like an Aprilaire BUT the furnace has to run because you need HEAT to evaporate the water.
You do not need heat.
If you are using unheated heating or A/C whole house ductwork to circulate the humidified air, you want a system that produces water vapor, i.e. steam. The usual heat source to vaporize the input water is an electric heating element. Honeywell sells several under the "True Steam" brand name.

User avatar
david78
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun. Aug. 08, 2010 9:50 pm
Baseburners & Antiques: Fuller & Warren Splendid Oak 27
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Location: Durbin WV

Post Fri. Dec. 17, 2010 8:32 am

SMITTY wrote:Humidity? You can buy my house if you want ... :lol:
That right there is a true whole house humidifier. And no maintenance required! :funny:

User avatar
poconoman
Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue. Oct. 27, 2009 5:42 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hyfire II
Location: Pocono Lake, PA

Post Fri. Dec. 17, 2010 9:17 am

If you are using unheated heating or A/C whole house ductwork to circulate the humidified air, you want a system that produces water vapor, i.e. steam. The usual heat source to vaporize the input water is an electric heating element. Honeywell sells several under the "True Steam" brand name.
Thank you

User avatar
wlape3
Member
Posts: 2553
Joined: Mon. Jan. 12, 2009 7:38 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 Auger
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Propane
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Location: Delanson, NY transitioning to SE Mass

Post Fri. Dec. 17, 2010 9:48 am

You can also use hot water as a feed to the humidifier. I do this because my airflow is not warm enough to get max output.

User avatar
VigIIPeaBurner
Site Moderator
Posts: 2296
Joined: Fri. Jan. 11, 2008 10:49 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vermont Casting Vigilant II 2310
Other Heating: #2 Oil Furnace
Location: Pequest River Valley, Warren Co NJ

Post Fri. Dec. 17, 2010 9:56 am

Will, how hot does the water need to be to work? Do you have a DHW coil in that beast?

Dannmarr
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed. Oct. 20, 2010 10:33 pm

Post Fri. Dec. 17, 2010 10:42 am

coaledsweat wrote:
poconoman wrote:You can add a whole house humidifier to the gas furnace like an Aprilaire BUT the furnace has to run because you need HEAT to evaporate the water.
You do not need heat.
Of course you need heat. When did you ever see a room humidifier shooting water into the air? The warm air running through your forced air system will help evaporate the water to a mist. This will distribute evenly throughout your home. If your forced air system is not in heat mode, the water will spray into the ducts and run down over your control board wiring at the bottom of your furnace. :o


Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”