Considering Coal Trol for Alaska Channing 3

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
Lee1
Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun. Jul. 06, 2008 11:03 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Channing 3
Location: Greenwich NY

Post Sat. Nov. 20, 2010 4:39 pm

Hello, I have an alaska channing 3, (about 4 years old) bottom vent (barometric damper) with a variable speed powervent. Manual feed controller box and convection blower (variable speed). I have a ranch (1100 sq ft upstairs, 700 sq ft in basement), stove sits in basement. I put in a cold air return from farthest bedroom back to stove (7inch duct, no fan). I generally try to maintain 80 degrees in basement to keep upstairs living room at 68 to 70 degrees. Would a basic coal trol be appropiate in my case? would I want to put thermostat in basement or in living room?

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Sat. Nov. 20, 2010 4:46 pm

It would problaby work either way, you would just have to set it to a higher temperature in the basement, the coaltrol only has a 25' cable length (CAT 5), but can be extended.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
mozz
Member
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon. Sep. 17, 2007 5:27 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 1982 AA-130 Steam
Location: Wayne county PA.

Post Sat. Nov. 20, 2010 5:30 pm

If you can keep a fairly constant temp as is, there is no need for the coal-trol. You need to even out the first floor and basement difference some more, though it would be hard to get them both perfect. On the other hand, having owned a coal-trol, I loved it, it kept the room with the stove about plus minus 1 degree.
Gouldsboro PA.

Lee1
Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun. Jul. 06, 2008 11:03 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Channing 3
Location: Greenwich NY

Post Sun. Nov. 21, 2010 8:18 am

Thanks for your opinions guys. Lee


User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Sun. Nov. 21, 2010 8:22 am

It does maintain a good temperature control, and you don't have to mess with feed rates, blowers, etc...it controls/varies them automatically depending on temp requirements.... :)

I have my thermostat in the living room, but the stove is in the basement, I like to play with it and sometimes override the settings, to give it a bit more blower or heat.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

Lee1
Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun. Jul. 06, 2008 11:03 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Channing 3
Location: Greenwich NY

Post Sun. Nov. 21, 2010 8:26 am

Thanks Dave, I may call and inquuire about purchasing one!

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Sun. Nov. 21, 2010 8:41 am

Talk to Neil or Paul at CoalTrol, they both are very knowledgeable.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”