My Modified Feeder

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
User avatar
MURDOC1
Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 14, 2009 10:00 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska/Franco Belge/Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: S.S. 2/ 144.08.02/ Mag Stoker
Location: Harleysville, Pa.

Post Sun. Oct. 03, 2010 2:39 pm

Just wanted to put up some pics of my modified Alaska feeder assy... It used to be a tri-burner!!!

Still uses the Alaska gearmotor setup to work the carpet, but the rest is history...

This mod is simply bolted to the feeder assy. using 1/4-20 stainless button head socket cap screws and in no way interferes with the feeding of coal onto the carpet or other... Gearmotor is serviced by removing 6 bolts and the shelf that the motor housing is mounted to comes out the bottom of the whole assembly, walk away with it for servicing/oiling etc... The combustion blower is a dayton ball bearing unit and is bolted over the existing air inlet port... I used nut-serts set into the feeder chassis so only 1 wrench is needed to remove the blower and there is no need to remove the entire feeder from the stove or pop the grate to access nuts on the inside... All 100% serviceable from the outside... This unit performed flawless last winter and for this winter its getting a coaltrol setup and I will be running the ducting to bring outside air to the combustion blower... I am also thinking about building a custom hot air jacket, not sure yet on that one...

Lemme know what you guys think...

Murdoc
alaska 002.jpg
alaska 003.jpg
alaska 004.jpg
alaska 006.jpg
alaska 007.jpg
alaska 008.jpg

User avatar
sterling40man
Member
Posts: 1641
Joined: Sat. May. 03, 2008 11:52 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker K6
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA-6
Location: Northern Maine

Post Sun. Oct. 03, 2010 2:45 pm

8-) Cool.
"I think the next best thing to solving a problem is finding some humor in it."

Bob

User avatar
DOUG
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Wed. Jul. 09, 2008 8:49 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: CHUBBY, D.S.MACHINE BOILER
Stove/Furnace Model: CLAYTON 1600
Location: PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA

Post Sun. Oct. 03, 2010 2:46 pm

WOW!!! Great Job! That is too cool. 8-) I would like to do that to my Tri-burner.


User avatar
MURDOC1
Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 14, 2009 10:00 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska/Franco Belge/Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: S.S. 2/ 144.08.02/ Mag Stoker
Location: Harleysville, Pa.

Post Sun. Oct. 03, 2010 2:53 pm

Thanks for the positive feedback!!!

If anyone wants this exact mod done to their stove I am willing to do it for you during the off-season... Send me your feeder assy. and I will mod it to mirror this one for a very reasonable price... I'll do it during the heating season also, but I don't imagine many of you would want to shut down for a week or two while I get it done for ya!!!

Murdoc
Adam in S.E. Pa.

Burnin' rice X twice= twice as nice!!!
Alaska= Modified Stoker Stove 2 (garage downstairs)
Harman= Mag Stoker (living space upstairs)

Lets Talk ROCKS!!!

User avatar
009to090
Member
Posts: 5104
Joined: Fri. Jan. 30, 2009 10:02 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520 HighBoy
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: DVC-500 x 2
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Rice
Location: Warrenton, NC

Post Sun. Oct. 03, 2010 6:39 pm

Looks good!
Is it my imagination, or is the mounting plate bending from the 4 attaching bolts? Would it be better to use thicker material for the mounting plate?
If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

User avatar
MURDOC1
Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 14, 2009 10:00 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska/Franco Belge/Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: S.S. 2/ 144.08.02/ Mag Stoker
Location: Harleysville, Pa.

Post Sun. Oct. 03, 2010 6:55 pm

DVC500 at last wrote:Is it my imagination, or is the mounting plate bending from the 4 attaching bolts? Would it be better to use thicker material for the mounting plate?
Are you talking about the mounting plate with the 4 studs with large spacers and stainless coupling nuts that hold the entire feeder chassis to the body of the stove??? If so, that is a part of the original tri-burner feeder assy from Alaska... I did not build this entire feeder, just modified the combustion air and gear motor mounting then attached it to the existing assy... All of my sheetmetal work was done using 11 gauge (1/8") and it is stoudt as all get out!!!

Murdoc
Adam in S.E. Pa.

Burnin' rice X twice= twice as nice!!!
Alaska= Modified Stoker Stove 2 (garage downstairs)
Harman= Mag Stoker (living space upstairs)

Lets Talk ROCKS!!!


User avatar
009to090
Member
Posts: 5104
Joined: Fri. Jan. 30, 2009 10:02 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520 HighBoy
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: DVC-500 x 2
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Rice
Location: Warrenton, NC

Post Sun. Oct. 03, 2010 8:13 pm

MURDOC1 wrote:Are you talking about the mounting plate with the 4 studs with large spacers and stainless coupling nuts that hold the entire feeder chassis to the body of the stove??? Murdoc
Yep, thats what I see. From the camera angle, it appears the 4 studs are bending that mounting plate. Must be an optional illusion :lol:
If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

User avatar
MURDOC1
Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 14, 2009 10:00 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska/Franco Belge/Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: S.S. 2/ 144.08.02/ Mag Stoker
Location: Harleysville, Pa.

Post Sun. Oct. 03, 2010 8:28 pm

DVC500 at last wrote: it appears the 4 studs are bending that mounting plate. Must be an optional illusion
Nope, no optical illusion, you're seeing it right... There is a slight concave type deal goin' on there at each mounting stud, but believe me it is far better now with the 1" O.D. spacers spreading the force out than it was with the factory setup... Plus with the rope gasket between there it allows the plate to distort a bit to get the gasket seated well... Those coupling nuts aren't very tight at all, really just snugged up even... I agree on the materials, if I built that entire feeder chassis that particular mounting plate would be more like 3/16" plate to eliminate that... I like to over-build everything as you will see with my custom indoor 4 ton coal bin that is almost complete... I'll be posting pics of it real soon...

Thanks for the observation, you are correct Sir!!!

Murdoc
Adam in S.E. Pa.

Burnin' rice X twice= twice as nice!!!
Alaska= Modified Stoker Stove 2 (garage downstairs)
Harman= Mag Stoker (living space upstairs)

Lets Talk ROCKS!!!

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”