Please Be Aware

User avatar
gerry_g
Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu. Dec. 10, 2009 10:51 am
Coal Size/Type: rice
Other Heating: Electric, Propane
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer LE Top Vent
Location: Eastern MA

Post Sat. Dec. 12, 2009 8:50 pm

opps, I just started a topic similar to this one, I was delayed and didn't post until after this one. Please do what you desire with the generator topic I started


User avatar
Rick 386
Member
Posts: 2474
Joined: Mon. Jan. 28, 2008 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AA 260 heating both sides of twin farmhouse
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL Hyfire II w/ coaltrol in garage
Coal Size/Type: Pea in AA 260, Rice in LL Hyfire II
Other Heating: Gas fired infared at work
Location: Royersford, Pa
Contact:

Post Sat. Dec. 12, 2009 9:59 pm

Flyer5,

In another thread I posted the following issue I had with a generator.

I have a troybuilt 5500 watt electric start alternator type generator.

Last year we had a power outage. I hooked up the generator to our house transfer switch which does power the AA 260.

I also ran an extension cord across the driveway to my SIL's house to power her Alaska Cast Console with the Alaska controls (rheostats only). Shortly thereafter she experienced issues with her stove. We had to replace the stoker motor on the Alaska. All other motors on it appear to still be fine.

Coincidence ????? I don't know but it does make you think.

Rick

User avatar
Flyer5
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 10375
Joined: Sun. Oct. 21, 2007 4:23 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Pioneer
Location: Montrose PA
Contact:

Post Sat. Dec. 12, 2009 10:04 pm

cmperry wrote:
cmperry wrote:Deleted .This thread is for gathering information only all other posts will be deleted .
including those with information
This thread is for experiences with using a generator good or bad , with or without coal troal . If you have something else to say please start a new thread . I am not trying to moderate the heck out of this but I do want to understand what is going on with this issue . Off topic posts only confuse the situation. Again this thread is just for experiences while running on a generator only Not what we should do . It is meant as nothing personal toward anyone and I hope it is not taken that way . Thank you

User avatar
gerry_g
Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu. Dec. 10, 2009 10:51 am
Coal Size/Type: rice
Other Heating: Electric, Propane
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer LE Top Vent
Location: Eastern MA

Post Sat. Dec. 12, 2009 10:26 pm

100% success with a Yamaha EF5200DE (bushless voltage regulated alternator) with transfer switch powering a Pioneer LE Top Vent, lights, fridge, freezer, TV and computer as well.

Also 100% success with a Statpower PROsine2.0 2000 watt inverter, Pioneer stove and a couple lamps.

User avatar
SMITTY
Member
Posts: 11912
Joined: Sun. Dec. 11, 2005 12:43 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Patriot Coal - (custom built by Jim Dorsey, Taunton MA - RIP 4/18/13)
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III (SOLD!)
Coal Size/Type: Rice / Blaschak anthracite
Other Heating: Oil fired Burnham boiler
Location: West-Central Mass

Post Sat. Dec. 12, 2009 10:29 pm

I owned a Chinese gen set I bought at a Cummins Tool sale. 6500W peak, 5500 nominal. Came with 2 duplex 120V outlets, & one 3-pronged 120V twistloc. Had a clone of a Honda GX190 engine (13HP, overhead valve, electric start) I only paid $325 for it, as it fell out off a loading dock & was all bashed up -- tank mashed in, gen vibration isolators snapped of the gen housing. I blew the tank back into shape with compressed air, & threw a rubber exhaust hanger under the gen housing to support the unit.

First thing I did was ditch that 120V twistlock for a 30A 4-prong 220V plug ... and wired it in after fumbling around with strange Chinese wiring practices.

Now I was able to plug it into an outdoor plug which is connected to my transfer panel, & power my well pump, fridge, boiler, certain lights & everything in the TV room including the computer. It ran everything without a problem ........ UNTIL I ran an extension cord out the window, plugged into one of the duplex outlets, & ran my washing machine. It ran that fine too, but I forgot to turn off the WATER HEATING feature it has ... which I would imagine draws some big amperage! Well once that kicked in, some lights in the house got REAL BRIGHT ... & I thought oh sh**!! Figured my spankin new fridge was toast. Then I heard a loud POP, & the kitchen light was out ..... then heard another smaller more muffled POP .... and my motion light on my porch was toast. I checked on the fridge, & the light inside was flickering super bright, then back to normal. This also happened later when I ran the dishwasher with the hot water feature on also.

I later realized that if I drew too much current off one leg of the generator (two 120V legs together are 220V), it would cause a voltage spike as high as 140V ... or higher if I drew more of a load on the other leg!! :shock:

This gen powered everything fine -- including the blower fan motor on my Mark III .... as long as both legs were reasonably balanced.

I tested out my new inverter generator that I recently bought on the same circuits, & it too ran all of them fine ... although I did not attempt to run the washing machine or dishwasher. The gauge on the gen said 3 bars out of 10, with every possible circuit running everything at once. (Yamaha EF6300iSDE)

User avatar
k9 Bara
Member
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon. Mar. 31, 2008 11:27 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1996 EFM 520 DF
Coal Size/Type: Buck / Reading
Location: Red Creek, Fair Haven area NY

Post Sun. Dec. 13, 2009 8:28 pm

I have a Devilbiss Generator. 6500 surge, 5250 running. I own a LL Econo 1 stoker **with out a Col-Trol**. It says brush less alternator. I don't think this generator is of any quality. I bought about 8 years ago. It powered my house for 1 week during an ice storm and as far as I'm concerned paid for it self. It was able to run the well pump, fridge, oil burner, PC tv and satellite Rcv'r. :)

Because of the many questions on the board lately, I pulled it out. Didn't have much fuel in it. It started and I connected the LL to it using 2 heavy ext cords. Stove was powered by the generator for just under 3 hours without an issue. I used an IR temp reader and temps were the same on all motors as before I switched the power sources. Just an FYI. I hope others have more input and the issues can be resolved.

Johnshan
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue. Feb. 24, 2009 11:40 am
Stove/Furnace Model: Econo

Post Mon. Dec. 14, 2009 7:41 am

Powermate 5000 watt/6300 surge w/10 hp subaru engine.

Generator is hardwired to the house feeding the main panel and is to code (I am an electrician).

Econo with coal trol will not run.

Alaska Channing III does run off the generator without issue.

User avatar
Flyer5
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 10375
Joined: Sun. Oct. 21, 2007 4:23 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Pioneer
Location: Montrose PA
Contact:

Post Mon. Dec. 14, 2009 9:52 am

Johnshan wrote:Powermate 5000 watt/6300 surge w/10 hp subaru engine.

Generator is hardwired to the house feeding the main panel and is to code (I am an electrician).

Econo with coal trol will not run.

Alaska Channing III does run off the generator without issue.
I sent you a PM to call us at the factory ,Thanks ,Dave


Pocono Newbies
Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun. Apr. 05, 2009 10:21 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Hyfire II
Location: East Stroudsburg, PA

Post Mon. Dec. 14, 2009 3:37 pm

We had a recent power outage and have a Generac/Guardian (or is it the other way around??) whole house generator, hardwired in. The generator kicked on after about 30 seconds and the stove continued working, never skipped a beat. We have a Coaltrol with the Hyfire II.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5864
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Mon. Dec. 14, 2009 7:19 pm

I just hooked up my Homelite 3500w (HOME DEPOT SPECIAL), with a 50 foot orange extension cord to check things.

129.1 Volts (No Load) at the end of the extension cord.

Hooked up to my CoalTrol running my Hyfire I, didn't even flinch. No Strange sounds or humming or buzzing. Ran it for a 10 minutes or so. Watched the stoker, blowers, etc...no problems. Forgot to put my KIllaWatt meter on it to check everything while the stove was running. But will next time I run it. :)
Attachments
Generator.jpg

User avatar
SMITTY
Member
Posts: 11912
Joined: Sun. Dec. 11, 2005 12:43 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Patriot Coal - (custom built by Jim Dorsey, Taunton MA - RIP 4/18/13)
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III (SOLD!)
Coal Size/Type: Rice / Blaschak anthracite
Other Heating: Oil fired Burnham boiler
Location: West-Central Mass

Post Mon. Dec. 14, 2009 7:22 pm

My house on line voltage only has 117 - 119 at the wall outlets in the house & in the barn. 129 is pretty good! 8-)

I built a 50 foot cable to connect my new gen to the house without leaving it out in the nasty weather. It's 8 gauge, 4-conductor wire.

User avatar
009to090
Member
Posts: 5101
Joined: Fri. Jan. 30, 2009 10:02 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520 HighBoy
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: DVC-500 x 2
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Rice
Location: Warrenton, NC

Post Mon. Dec. 14, 2009 8:11 pm

SMITTY wrote:My house on line voltage only has 117 - 119 at the wall outlets in the house & in the barn. 129 is pretty good! 8-)

I built a 50 foot cable to connect my new gen to the house without leaving it out in the nasty weather. It's 8 gauge, 4-conductor wire.
Smitty, what connectors did you use for the 8/4 ? L14-30 twist-lock?

User avatar
SMITTY
Member
Posts: 11912
Joined: Sun. Dec. 11, 2005 12:43 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Patriot Coal - (custom built by Jim Dorsey, Taunton MA - RIP 4/18/13)
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III (SOLD!)
Coal Size/Type: Rice / Blaschak anthracite
Other Heating: Oil fired Burnham boiler
Location: West-Central Mass

Post Mon. Dec. 14, 2009 8:19 pm

Yep ... I took them from my old 10 foot 10/4 stiff Romex cable that I used prior. I bought the plugs at Home Depot with that Romex a few years ago. Got the new cable off Ebay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ite ... K:MEWNX:IT

User avatar
Flyer5
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 10375
Joined: Sun. Oct. 21, 2007 4:23 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Pioneer
Location: Montrose PA
Contact:

Post Mon. Dec. 14, 2009 8:45 pm

Please keep the thread on topic . I am just trying to gather data from experiences of using a generator.I understand some of this is related and good info but for discussions please move to another thread . Thanks ,Dave

Billyirons
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun. Oct. 11, 2009 12:28 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL Pocono
Other Heating: Electric Baseboard
Location: Mahopac, NY

Post Wed. Dec. 23, 2009 4:29 pm

I am looking to buy a generator to run my LL Pocono with Coal-trol.
I just tried an almost new Duromax Elite MX4500 generator and it is NOT compatible
with my stove. I'll just have to find a generator that works with the Coal-trol.
Does anyone else have a good recommendation for a portable generator?


Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”