Back-Up Power...Yet Again ?

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
Mossy Beard
Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu. Jun. 26, 2008 7:08 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum Stoker

Post Wed. Dec. 09, 2009 12:12 pm

I've got a Tripp Lite APS 750 on my Harman Mag.
It may have been doing it for awhile but I was in the basement when the inverter transferred the other day.
I'm experiencing a "buzzing" noise from the blower motors, on stand by power.
I did check the outlet voltage and it is around 97 v . That check was with my old amprobe. ( non-RMS meter) Someone said to check first with an RMS meter ?
Does anyone else notice this on stand-by power ?

I know low voltage is no good but I'm not sure what is causing it. ( if the reading is right) My battery is charged, 13.5 volts.
Any help/comments are appreciated.
Thanks, Mossy Beard

User avatar
009to090
Member
Posts: 5104
Joined: Fri. Jan. 30, 2009 10:02 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520 HighBoy
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: DVC-500 x 2
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Rice
Location: Warrenton, NC

Post Wed. Dec. 09, 2009 12:18 pm

Heres a thread with my experiences with backup power.

Building a TRUE Sinewave UPS for my DVC-500
If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

Mossy Beard
Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu. Jun. 26, 2008 7:08 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum Stoker

Post Wed. Dec. 09, 2009 1:27 pm

Thanks, that's a good read.
I hate to throw the Tripp Lite over bank and start over...
It was supposed to do the job. I wish I could find out where the voltage drop is ?
I assuming that the low voltage will destroy the motors ?

Thx, Mossy Beard

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Wed. Dec. 09, 2009 1:36 pm

it's Not voltage, it's Not a true sine wave output, mine does the same thing. But it's a cheap UPS, but works until I can get the generator online....runs about 10 mins or so. (Small batteries).
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer


Mossy Beard
Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu. Jun. 26, 2008 7:08 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Magnum Stoker

Post Wed. Dec. 09, 2009 1:42 pm

WNY,
Do you have a Tripp Lite and have the same symptoms ?
Then the buzzing/low valtage would cause no harm ?

Thanks, Mossy

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6603
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Wed. Dec. 09, 2009 3:01 pm

The buzzing is from the inverter sending modified sine wave power. Electric motor like pure sine wave. If left long enough on modified sine wave it could damage the motors.
Orrington, Maine
Fred

"If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all".

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Wed. Dec. 09, 2009 3:09 pm

No, mine is an APC or something like that.
But, yes, if left run long enough, it could damage motors as per other posts. I have never gone over 15 mins or so
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”