Hyfire 2 Jacket Questions

Post Reply
ewcsretired
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun. Oct. 29, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: Wellsboro, PA

Post Tue. Jan. 16, 2007 6:38 am

I presently have a hyfire 2 in the cellar, coming off the convection pipe(8 inch) is a y with two 6 inch pipes. Both go out to registers in the main room of the house. I am limited to the 6 inch pipes due to foundation/sill dimensions. I was wondering if I put the jacket on the stove, keep the original blowers and install an additional in line fan in each pipe would I gain anything? The stove heats a big old farmhouse now and is adequate, just wonder if I could squeeze some more efficiency out of it.

I do not have the room for the 14 inch blower or means to connect it to the gas heating system.

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9904
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Tue. Jan. 16, 2007 8:57 am

Yes.

Jerry & Karen
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon. Jan. 23, 2006 7:30 pm
Location: Berwick, pa
Contact:

Post Tue. Jan. 16, 2007 4:55 pm

I would try to add another 6" pipe to the top, and then put duct fans in each.


ewcsretired
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun. Oct. 29, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: Wellsboro, PA

Post Tue. Jan. 16, 2007 7:50 pm

I would try to add another 6" pipe to the top, and then put duct fans in each.
I think you are you saying get the jacket with two six inch pipes coming off the top. Can the jacket be modified to accomplish this?

Do I leave the present 256 blowers installed after I do this?

as always thanks for your help

Jerry & Karen
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon. Jan. 23, 2006 7:30 pm
Location: Berwick, pa
Contact:

Post Tue. Jan. 16, 2007 8:04 pm

The jacket will be a big improvement over the 8" duct top. When you order the jacket, you can special order the top of the jacket almost any way that you want or need. If I were you, when ordering the jacket, I would have 4-6" holes put in. That way if you ever need more then 2 you have them. Just cap them off. I would install 6" duct fans in the lines and remove the 2-265cfm fans and leave the holes open on the back of the stove, this way it will draw air evenly over the entire unit.
Jerry

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”