Harmon Magnum Stoker With a Power Venter???

A Coal stoker furnace or stove controls most operations including automatically feeding the coal. They are quite similar to any conventional oil and gas units and easily operated for extended periods of time. They commonly use rice coal but may use larger sizes like buckwheat. They can be used as primary heat, supplementary heat or have a dual set up with your existing oil/gas furnace.
Post Reply
User avatar
MURDOC1
Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 14, 2009 10:00 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska/Franco Belge/Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: S.S. 2/ 144.08.02/ Mag Stoker
Location: Harleysville, Pa.

Post Fri. Aug. 28, 2009 1:36 pm

Hi, I first posted in the helpdesk, same subject, think that was the wrong place, oops!!! This time i'll keep it simple.. Can I use a Power Venter with a Harman Magnum or new Super Magnum Stoker??? Has anyone done this??? If so anything I need to know??? I most likley would be ditching the Harman factory stoker controls for a coal-trol unit at which point I know I would be able to at least integrate the power venter directly into the control process, at least I think so??? What to do with the fume switch??? And I know I will need a barometric damper, that part's obvious!!! Thanks for any input you may have on this topic.

Adam in S.E. Pa.
Adam in S.E. Pa.

Burnin' rice X twice= twice as nice!!!
Alaska= Modified Stoker Stove 2 (garage downstairs)
Harman= Mag Stoker (living space upstairs)

Lets Talk ROCKS!!!

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Aug. 28, 2009 6:00 pm

you should be able to run a power vent with a Mag Stoker. If you switch controls to CoalTrol, depending on the model, it has an input for the Fume Switch, to shut the stove down if there is a problem in the exhaust.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
Matthaus
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1929
Joined: Mon. Oct. 02, 2006 8:59 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110 Dual Fuel, natural gas
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Lil' Heater (rental house)
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Buckwheat Anthracite
Location: Wilkes Barre, PA

Post Fri. Aug. 28, 2009 7:57 pm

As Dave stated you will nbeed the Coal-Trol with the interlock for a WM0-1 fume switch. This will be installed in the stove body so as to sense firebox draft pressure (if you lose draft the heat lasses out past the switch and shuts down the feed and combustion air thus shutting off the stove.

I used a Field Controls 4HDSS power venter with fume switch and Coal-Trol for a year or so with a Harman Magnum, will work fine for you. Not sure about the Super Magnum, looked at the manual. Is basically a DVC500 stoker assembly on a modified magnum body with some modified pellet stove controls and a convection fan on the bottom where you can't get at it. If it were me I would buy a used magnum, add the Coal-Trol and power vent and end up with a better setup... just based on what I can see by looking at the Super magnum manual.

Best of luck with your project. :)
Matthaus
Leisure Line Stove Company
http://www.leisurelinestoves.com/

User avatar
MURDOC1
Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 14, 2009 10:00 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska/Franco Belge/Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: S.S. 2/ 144.08.02/ Mag Stoker
Location: Harleysville, Pa.

Post Sat. Aug. 29, 2009 2:50 am

Thank you both Dave and Matthaus for your thoughts. Very helpful and I as Matthaus said, I tend to agree with the magnum versus the super magnum, and will most likley go that route.

Another question regarding placement of the fume switch, where is the best place to tap into a magnum for proper function of the fume switch without false trips shutting down the stove??? Side, back, above the burn, above/below the bricks, below the grate, etc. ??? I can handle any mods and or fab work that need to be done so with that said what is the absolute best way to do this in your experience?

Thanks again for the great replies

Adam in S.E. Pa.
Adam in S.E. Pa.

Burnin' rice X twice= twice as nice!!!
Alaska= Modified Stoker Stove 2 (garage downstairs)
Harman= Mag Stoker (living space upstairs)

Lets Talk ROCKS!!!


User avatar
Matthaus
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1929
Joined: Mon. Oct. 02, 2006 8:59 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110 Dual Fuel, natural gas
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Lil' Heater (rental house)
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Buckwheat Anthracite
Location: Wilkes Barre, PA

Post Sun. Aug. 30, 2009 1:26 am

I usually place them on the side toward the rear just below the level of the grate, that way a really hot fire will not have the chance to trip the switch by accident. On the Magnums the back wall is the hot air jacket so not really a great place to be drilling holes! :shock: I've installed them on around 10 stoves (Harman, Alaska, LL, and Keystoker)) and so far no issues with placement. I just use a bi-metal hole saw to make the hole and use the gasket supplied with the switch or some RTV if it is a used switch for sealing around the switch tube.. I would test it after installation to make sure it shuts down the stove when draft is lost.

Best of luck with your search. :)
Matthaus
Leisure Line Stove Company
http://www.leisurelinestoves.com/

User avatar
MURDOC1
Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Fri. Aug. 14, 2009 10:00 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska/Franco Belge/Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: S.S. 2/ 144.08.02/ Mag Stoker
Location: Harleysville, Pa.

Post Sun. Aug. 30, 2009 11:35 am

Cool deal, thanks Matthaus, sounds like a plan!!!

Any recommendations on where to purchase a power venter new for a good price?? I was quoted $525.00 for an Alaska SWG venter with WMO-1 fume switch. That a good price? Or can I buy a field controls unit (I realize the Alaska venter is a field controls SWG series venter) from a HVAC supply house for less money??? Thanks man!!!

Adam
Adam in S.E. Pa.

Burnin' rice X twice= twice as nice!!!
Alaska= Modified Stoker Stove 2 (garage downstairs)
Harman= Mag Stoker (living space upstairs)

Lets Talk ROCKS!!!

User avatar
Matthaus
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1929
Joined: Mon. Oct. 02, 2006 8:59 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110 Dual Fuel, natural gas
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Leisure Line Lil' Heater (rental house)
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Buckwheat Anthracite
Location: Wilkes Barre, PA

Post Sun. Aug. 30, 2009 12:20 pm

Yes you can buy from local wholesale plumbing house. The best deal out there is the Leisure Line Kit, comes with a barometric damper, fume switch, rheostat wired to the power vent, and the 4'X6" adapter. You will also need a manometer to measure draft. I sent you a PM, I happen to have a used one with all the stuff except the barometric damper ($28 from your local plumbing supply).
Matthaus
Leisure Line Stove Company
http://www.leisurelinestoves.com/

Post Reply

Return to “Stoker Coal Furnaces & Stoves Using Anthracite (Hot Air)”