Harman DVC-500 Problems With Combustion Fan

trb157

Post by trb157 » Mon. Nov. 20, 2006 2:06 pm

Newbie here. I have a 2 year old DVC-500. Recently, and under warrenty, the computer board, the combustion fan and the draft fan motors were all replaced. When I first got the stove and when it worked properly the combustion fan would come on and off with the feed motor to control the temp in room temp mode.
So both the air and the amount of coal were controlling the temperature. Now, with the new board installed, the combustion fan runs on high all the time! So the only way the stove controls temp now is with the feed rate. Is this normal? The combustion fan never shuts down or slows down ever. It is almost operating like a pellet stove that just feeds more pellets when it wants more heat. It seems like both the amount of forced air and the amount of coal should work together to control the heat output. So all I get now is a very small fire in the back of the burn area and a very loud fan noise. If I turn the room temp up then I get fire moving towards the fron of the grates but it quickly overheats the room this way since the combustion fan is blowing full force.

My dealer is pretty hard to reason with and I have a hard time convincing him that something just ain't right! Am I right or wrong here? Should the combustion fan run full blast all the time?

CoalBin
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: DVC-500
Other Heating: Wood Stove & Oil

Post by CoalBin » Mon. Nov. 20, 2006 3:56 pm