Coal Ashes Looks Like Granola

jimbo970

Post by jimbo970 » Tue. Oct. 31, 2006 8:30 am

Hi All,

I am new to rice coal burning. I have figured a few things out in the last 2 weeks but still have an issue to resolve. I have figured how to adjust the feed rate and settings on my control box(magnum stoker) but no matter whick way I configure things the coal in the ash pan has the exact look of granola. It appears that the coal is not fully burned. I have some fine ash ( not alot) some clumpy piles that break up ver easily in hand. the other coal that is beige in color and resembles granola appears to be half burned. most will crush easily if I pinch between fingers.

So I need to know from you all doing this coal stuff for awhile. Is this the cormal consitancy of rice coal or...?

I currently am pushing 3 dots on stoker and settings are 2 min on and 15 min off - not that cold here yet. Combust fan runs 24\7 with 2\3 opening on plate.

wenchris

Post by wenchris » Tue. Oct. 31, 2006 9:21 am

Yup, it burning right. Getting the same on my mag. Going to try the combustion blower going 24/7 also. Right now have everything pluged into power strip (no controler) pushing 3/4-1 dot. keeping the house a toasty 72 deg. Getting no unburnt. Once it gets colder will go back to the controler with the combustion blower going 24/7. Hope this will solve the problem I had last year with some unburnt in the ashes. Jimmy

Attachments

IM000151.JPG
.JPG | 176.7KB | IM000151.JPG

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Tue. Oct. 31, 2006 10:33 am

Your description of the ash sounds right. Even in my hand-load boiler's firebox, where the coal pile is usually 10-12" deep, and burns for 8-10 hours, some of the coal does not burn completely.