Water Coil in Coal Stove

traderfjp

Post by traderfjp » Wed. May. 17, 2006 12:27 am

I talked with my stove guy and he is adamant about NOT using a coil to make domestic hot water or to circulate water through the coils in my oil fired boiler.

His thoughts were that it was dangerous and that I would have lots of problems. He said that the water in the pipe could create steam and rip the pipes open and also that the stainless coil could fail inside the stove creating a mess and ruining the stove.

I'd love some opions and advice on what he said since I'm new at this but know plumbing. My plan was to use a circulator (Taco) and run my boiler water through the stove. The stove is going on the first floor and will also heat my upstairs too. I would love to use some of this heat for my boiler so I could heat my basement and keep a more even heat to the upstairs.

He did say that I could buy a coil from Alaska or Keystoker (haven't decided what stove I want) but that the coil only holds 3/4 of a gallon and is basically useless.
Thanks in advance.

Richard S.
Mayor
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite

Post by Richard S. » Wed. May. 17, 2006 4:49 am

traderfjp wrote:I talked with my stove guy and he is adamant about NOT using a coil to make domestic hot water
Many people do quite sucessfully.
or to circulate water through the coils in my oil fired boiler.
Don't know why you want to do that or if you can.
He said that the water in the pipe could create steam and rip the pipes open and also that the stainless coil could fail inside the stove creating a mess and ruining the stove.
Never heard of that happening and even if it did short of the pipes exploding and causing damage it is just water. Considering the fact that these coils have been in use for at least 30 years (probably longer) I doubt that they would be able to still sell them or would if that was a problem.