Is This Logic Flawed

traderfjp

Post by traderfjp » Mon. Oct. 06, 2008 8:25 pm

I'm just curious if this logic (or lack of) works. It's 50 degress outside now and my inside temp 4' from the stove is 80 and I have a 2" band of coal burning on my grate. THere is a 30 degree difference in temps. Not lets say temps go to 20 and I still keep the room at 80. Now I have a 60 degree difference. Can I make the leap and say that I would have a 4" band of coal burning on my grate or are there too many factors to figure it out like this?

coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea

Post by coaledsweat » Mon. Oct. 06, 2008 8:44 pm

Maybe, the difference in output temps will be how much coal goes through the burning band in an hour/day, not necessarily how wide the band is itself.

Devil505

Post by Devil505 » Mon. Oct. 06, 2008 8:59 pm

traderfjp wrote:Not lets say temps go to 20 and I still keep the room at 80. Now I have a 60 degree difference. Can I make the leap and say that I would have a 4" band of coal burning on my grate or are there too many factors to figure it out like this?
Aside from the differences between stokers & hand-fired stoves, I think you'll find heat output vs outside temp does not progress as uniformly as that. I have always found that once the colder weather really hits, you're coal usage goes up drastically. In other words, I might do fine burning about 20-30 lbs of coal a day through....say mid December in my TLC, but then a drop of maybe only 10-15* outside will force me to double the amount I burn. So I guess what I'm saying is your stove's heat output has to increase exponentially to keep the same inside temp with a small drop in outdoor temp.
(Not being familiar with stokers,I don't know if that would equate to a wider band of burning coal or just more coal moving through the stove, but you will use allot more coal to make up for small outside temp differences)