Heat Exchange Improvements

madrmc

Post by madrmc » Mon. Feb. 27, 2006 7:10 pm

Just wanted to get opinions about whether your stove could exchange heat better. I have an Alaska Channing stoker and the heat exchange is no more than the top of the stove vs. the air that a squirrel cage blower moves over it. There is about a 2” air gap between the top of the stove and the “hood”.

I’m no engineer, but I think heat exchange would greatly improve by adding finned aluminum pipe and letting the air blow in between the fins (not the pipe itself). I was trying to find an illustration online. This site isn’t too bad with an imagination:
**Broken Link(s) Removed**. This way you would increase the surface area, and use a material that is a much better conductor (alumumin vs. steel). The temperatures of the air coming out would have to be a lot hotter.

Also there’s no type of heat exchanger on the side of the stove, and the sides are very hot to the touch even on lower settings. You might be able to build in some heat exchanger on the sides.

I know that Keystoker has an internal heat exchanger and claims 88-90% efficiency. Alaska has said that their stokers average 76% and their isn’t a formal heat exchanger. It seems like this would be time well spent, something that could add to BTU output no matter how fast you’re running it.

Thoughts?

davemich

Post by davemich » Mon. Feb. 27, 2006 7:17 pm

Mad...your link is dead. I agree...I always thought a tube going thru the top of the firebox would enhance BTU's but I am certainly no engineer! Interesting question tho...maybe our friend from Leisure Line could give us the straight skinny.

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Mon. Feb. 27, 2006 7:30 pm