Coal Ashes in the Garden?

Richard S.
Mayor
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite

Post by Richard S. » Wed. Feb. 08, 2006 12:17 am

LsFarm asked in another post if putting coal ashes in the garden was OK. I figured that's a pretty good question so I started a new thread. It was discussed in another thread here, someone had chimed in that coal ashes contain trace heavy metals and other toxic agents.... so does dirt...

I know many of my customers use them in there garden and swear by them. As far as the toxic aspect I'm not a scientist so I really don't know. Really depends on the level, perhaps someone with a little more knowledge can help.

The previous post thread can be found here: What Do You Do With the Ashes?

mjb

Post by mjb » Wed. Feb. 08, 2006 3:06 pm

I work at a DOE Laboratory on Long Island and one of the bldgs. there is a biology department. I e-mailed the guy who runs the greenhouses and this is his reply. More to follow.

Coal ash contains stuff, including trace elements, that is harmful to plants in high concentrations and I think it contains arsenic too. I'll try to find something in print rather than try to rely on my failing memory.
Rich

Richard S.
Mayor

Post by Richard S. » Thu. Feb. 09, 2006 11:56 am

Another thing I had also pointed out was that I'd assume you'd have to consider the type of ash. I'm sure the composition of anthracite ash differs from bituminous ash... Information on bituminous ash should be fairly abundant, whether the same is true for anthracite ash I don't know.

What I'm really interested in is if using the ash can be hazardous to your health. The big question is are the levels of toxins enough to be harmful to human if they consume food grown in this ash or is just the same as if you used plain topsoil.

Berlin

Post by Berlin » Thu. Feb. 09, 2006 1:40 pm