Stove cleanliness / health

tcalo
Baseburners & Antiques: Crawford 40
Coal Size/Type: Nut/stove anthracite

Post by tcalo » Thu. Apr. 12, 2018 8:15 pm

Let me start off by saying I am a neat freak...just ask my better half! I've been burning for about 7 years now. Coal has been handling about 85% of our heat load. I've used a Coal Chubby in the past and currently burn in an Our Glenwood 109. I have brought this issue up in the past as well. I've noticed a very fine gray coating on almost everything, it even gets in our kitchen cabinets. Not on the stuff we use daily, but stuff that's been sitting around. After a few days I get a film on my windows and doors, especially near the stove room. I did install a vent system directly above my stove. It's flex duct with an inline fan that sucks the heat from the stove room and distributes it to the rest of the house. Works great, put pushes the dust around too. I used to keep a filter in the vent, but they were getting clogged way to fast so I ditched the filter. I have a good amount of gray dust built up in the flex duct too. I've contemplated ditching the stove and using the oil heat, but that radiant heat is so nice. I know what many will say, it's all how you tend it and handle the ash. Trust me, I treat the ash like it's nitroglycerin and tend the stove like handling a new born. I'm gentle as hell! I'm thinking it's stove design. Lots of gaps throughout this old puppy. Not by age, but rather design. I've tried everything to keep this problem at bay. My thought is breathing all this crap in will eventually take a toll on our health. I've even thought about burning wood. I know, forsaken here! A buddy of mine burns wood and says he gets dust too, so that's out. I was curious what others with more stove knowledge than myself can add. Especially those with suspended pot stove knowledge! Basically, to keep burning coal I need a cleaner stove.

warminmn
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Junior, Efel Nestor Martin, Riteway 37