Help Switch Needed

Post Reply
User avatar
joeq
Member
Posts: 4546
Joined: Sat. Feb. 11, 2012 11:53 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: G111, Southard Robertson
Stove/Furnace Make: Thermopride
Stove/Furnace Model: oil fired
Location: Northern CT

Post By: joeq » Sun. Dec. 17, 2017 12:54 pm

Hoping to get some info for a friend. He owns a Nashua brand combination stove, which has a blower on the back. The blower motor has a 2 speed slide switch located externally on the cord, and the sw has gone bad. He says he's tried local electrical supply houses, and even on line, and can't seem to find this simple sw anywhere. It's a green/white 3 wire 115V low amp Sw, and I told him maybe an off brand, such as Hitzer, or Alaska maybe, might have something similar. Any assistance would be appreciated. Thanks.

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 10479
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post By: coaledsweat » Sun. Dec. 17, 2017 1:00 pm

Grainger or McMaster Carr have zillions of switches.

User avatar
D-frost
Member
Posts: 584
Joined: Sun. Dec. 08, 2013 7:10 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Yukon Eagle I (multi-fuel oil, wood/coal)
Baseburners & Antiques: Herald 'fireside oak'
Coal Size/Type: nut/stove-Blaschak
Location: Southern New Hampshire

Post By: D-frost » Sun. Dec. 17, 2017 1:05 pm

Joe,
He should be able to find a 3 speed rotary switch(like on a window box fan) at an electric supply, or maybe even Home Depot. If not, bypass the switch and you have '1' speed.
Cheers

User avatar
joeq
Member
Posts: 4546
Joined: Sat. Feb. 11, 2012 11:53 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: G111, Southard Robertson
Stove/Furnace Make: Thermopride
Stove/Furnace Model: oil fired
Location: Northern CT

Post By: joeq » Sun. Dec. 17, 2017 1:45 pm

My buddy has the ratings of the motor, and I believe he said something like .9 amps/1.5? on a 2 pole switch, and said that he knows about the supply houses having gazillions of sw, but guess he's having a hard time finding his in the exact ratings, and doesn't know how much he can deviate. It does work on high, but says it's noisy and likes the slow speed also. Thanks for the responses. I was just wondering about other manufactured stoves having this same feature. Does anyone have a stove, (still in production), with this type of cord?


User avatar
Sunny Boy
Member
Posts: 13790
Joined: Mon. Nov. 11, 2013 1:40 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Anthracite Industrial, domestic hot water heater
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood range 208, # 6 base heater, 2 Modern Oak 118.
Coal Size/Type: Nuts !
Other Heating: Oil &electric plenum furnace
Location: Central NY

Post By: Sunny Boy » Sun. Dec. 17, 2017 5:42 pm

Can he take the high speed wire in the switch and swap it with the low speed wire ? If so, then he'll have a quiet one speed.

Paul

User avatar
joeq
Member
Posts: 4546
Joined: Sat. Feb. 11, 2012 11:53 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: G111, Southard Robertson
Stove/Furnace Make: Thermopride
Stove/Furnace Model: oil fired
Location: Northern CT

Post By: joeq » Sun. Dec. 17, 2017 6:45 pm

There's an idea Paul. If worse comes to worse, I'll run that by him. I don't know how bad his sw is, but it doesn't sound very promising. He said something about water damage over the years.

cabinover
Member
Posts: 1696
Joined: Wed. Feb. 04, 2009 7:13 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Hybrid Axeman Anderson 130
Baseburners & Antiques: Sparkle #12
Coal Size/Type: Pea, Buckwheat, Nut
Other Heating: LP Hot air. WA TX for coal use.
Location: Fair Haven, VT

Post By: cabinover » Sun. Dec. 17, 2017 6:54 pm

With a little elbow grease and time he probably could make that switch work just fine. If it's a sealed plastic unit it can be carefully dissected, clean up the contacts, and let it roll. If it's a crimped metal switch, pretty much the same deal. Just hit them with an ohmmeter before using when you get them back together. An easy test with a cheap meter will let you know if it was put back together correctly or not.

If it's water damage, it's probably just a good cleaning with emery cloth/fine sandpaper on the points and reassemble. Or...he can try something like DeOxit and operating the switch several times. May get lucky and not have to tear it apart.

Then again, maybe just retrofit any 2 position switch. An internet search will shine the light on switches...really useful items that are not complicated at this level.

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 6467
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post By: McGiever » Sun. Dec. 17, 2017 9:01 pm



User avatar
michaelanthony
Member
Posts: 4500
Joined: Sat. Nov. 22, 2008 10:42 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vigilant 2310, gold marc box stove, vogelzang pot belly coat rack
Baseburners & Antiques: Home Sparkle 12
Coal Size/Type: Coal Contractor's stove, a little Kimmels 'nut
Other Heating: Very cold FHA oil furnace
Location: millinocket,me.
Contact:

Post By: michaelanthony » Sun. Dec. 17, 2017 9:32 pm

...yup, good call Larry. I stole a similar switch from an old kitchen exhaust hood to do the same thing.

User avatar
joeq
Member
Posts: 4546
Joined: Sat. Feb. 11, 2012 11:53 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: G111, Southard Robertson
Stove/Furnace Make: Thermopride
Stove/Furnace Model: oil fired
Location: Northern CT

Post By: joeq » Sun. Dec. 17, 2017 11:22 pm

Thanks guys. It's not on a cord, but if he's really motivated, he could adapt it. Not sure of the rating on it, but it should be close enuff, I would think. I'll pass it on, and let you know what transpires.

User avatar
Shikellamy
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue. Dec. 05, 2017 6:20 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III
Location: Bethel, PA (Berks Co)

Post By: Shikellamy » Sun. Dec. 17, 2017 11:52 pm

As a quick alternative, I just bought a 120V/2.5A variable speed fan control made by KB Electronics called Dial-A-Temp and sold by my local stove store for $25. The same thing can be found online for under $20, but I support my local shop. https://www.amazon.com/KB-Electronics-Model-Varia ... ial-a-temp

User avatar
joeq
Member
Posts: 4546
Joined: Sat. Feb. 11, 2012 11:53 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: G111, Southard Robertson
Stove/Furnace Make: Thermopride
Stove/Furnace Model: oil fired
Location: Northern CT

Post By: joeq » Mon. Dec. 18, 2017 6:21 am

Shikellamy wrote:
Sun. Dec. 17, 2017 11:52 pm
As a quick alternative, I just bought a 120V/2.5A variable speed fan control made by KB Electronics called Dial-A-Temp and sold by my local stove store for $25. The same thing can be found online for under $20, but I support my local shop. https://www.amazon.com/KB-Electronics-Model-Varia ... ial-a-temp
I'll add this to the list also. Appreciate it.

User avatar
joeq
Member
Posts: 4546
Joined: Sat. Feb. 11, 2012 11:53 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: G111, Southard Robertson
Stove/Furnace Make: Thermopride
Stove/Furnace Model: oil fired
Location: Northern CT

Post By: joeq » Mon. Jan. 01, 2018 2:14 pm

My buddy told me he found a rheostat mounted on an 8' cord, that he wants to have professionally mounted to his blower motor. Because his new cord has 3 wires, and his old corded sw had 4 wires, he wasn't sure which wires went where, and didn't want to run the risk of ruining his motor. Guess it should be nice having the advantage of an infinite setting for blower speeds.

Post Reply

Return to “Coal News & General Coal Discussions”