Help Grease a Squeaky Wheel

ByrnesvilleMurphy

Post by ByrnesvilleMurphy » Mon. Sep. 18, 2017 11:32 pm

Hi All! My name is Murph and I hail from Schuylkill County, Pa. After several days of surfing thru the forums and various threads of this well established site, I decided to join. From what I viewed, all of the contributing members and Mods are very experienced and well informed in coal heat. That in itself helped me a lot and probably MANY more people who just surf by without stopping by.

I have some experience in coal heat. When I was a youngster I used to watch my uncle operate a large coal stove, which heated a 2000+ sqft house. Before long, I learned to load, stoke, rake, and.... empty that massive beast. That's going back 35-40 years. Between then, I've been using either oil or electric as a source of heat :no1:

So, for the last year (or so) I was considering an alternate to electric baseboard heat. I thought about propane gas for a fireplace but quickly realized it was not much different from the electric expense. Then recently, I thought about a wood stove which I was really looking into and excited about, then I thought about where I could keep 3-5 cords (or transporting a single cord). Then it kicked in! If I were to get a stove, why not get a coal stove?

That's where I'm at now. A coal stove makes the most logical sense living in a coal region where its cheaper, clean, and available. The problem I am facing is: If I'm going to do it, I need to do it right. This part is critical since it has been 30 years since I dealt with coal.

I know there's so many topics here about different stoves/stokers and installs but I was wondering if anyone reading this will share some experience or pointers for my consideration moving forward in my purchase and install.

95 yr old 1500 sq ft 2 1/2 story wood frame (twin/ half-double) with basement