So How Dirty Really Is Anthracite?

ad356

Post by ad356 » Sat. Oct. 22, 2016 4:07 pm

im talking from an environmental standpoint. I have been burning for a couple of years and though it was pretty darn clean, like almost as clean as natural gas. no visible smoke emissions out of the chimney. I heat the barn with cord wood, when I burn that stove or my neighbors are cranking their own wood stoves you get allot of smoke, noticeable amounts. seems to me that coal burns cleaner. I have been going to truck driving school to get a CDL. the instructor said something about coal, kind of like a side discussion. well I had to say something. he gives me one of those shame on me for burning that filthy, dirty stuff. I told him how cleanly it burns and that im not burning that bituminous crap. he claims im putting dioxins into the air. who is right? is anthracite dirty? as long as its available, and presume it will be around for at least the rest of my life, I will continue to burn coal. I love the heat, the price, and the efficiency. its amazing how much heat you get from really so little product. still I wonder, is it a clean burning fuel? does it produce these really harm emissions that cannot be seen by the naked eye?

Lightning
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Modified AA 130
Coal Size/Type: Pea Size - Anthracite

Post by Lightning » Sat. Oct. 22, 2016 4:17 pm

Anthracite is pretty clean relatively speaking compared to bituminous, I'm not sure how it stands against wood in this respect.

The biggest beef with anthracite is that it's mainly carbon, so it does in fact create more carbon dioxide relative to hydrocarbon fuels like feul oil, methane, propane ect.

Anthracite does also have a small (tiny) percentage of sulfur, which contributes to acid rain.

But yeah, I'm on board with you about it being a clean fuel. Just look at the smoke, what smoke? lol

joeq
Hand Fed Coal Stove: G111, Southard Robertson

Post by joeq » Sat. Oct. 22, 2016 4:23 pm