What Have You Learned This Year?

Lightning
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Modified AA 130
Coal Size/Type: Pea Size - Anthracite

Post by Lightning » Fri. Feb. 20, 2015 9:41 pm

As this is my 4th season burning coal, I'm still learning new things about it. Mainly, the limits of my stove along with alterations to my tending routine along with drafting tricks and secondary air. One big step for me has been the use of stove size coal for the colder part of the season. I enjoy how much faster it recovers after a new load is put in and how I can command a hotter burn from it at will.

As far as limits are concerned, I've pretty well nailed down a tending schedule based on outdoor temperatures. For example, during shoulder months, anything over a 30 degree average for a 24 hour period, I can get 24 hour burn times. Under that down to about a 15 degree average for 24 hours I can do 18 hour burns and anything under that can be handled with 12 hour intervals.

Feel free to add a significant learning experience about your coal burning here.. :D

titleist1

Post by titleist1 » Fri. Feb. 20, 2015 9:47 pm

During this real cold weather the last week or so, I learned to squeeze a few more degrees out of the stoker by increasing the feed rate which gets the burning coal right to the very edge of the grates. I didn't increase the combustion air at all, just the feed rate. High temps on the sides went from 650* to 710*

freetown fred
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut

Post by freetown fred » Fri. Feb. 20, 2015 10:11 pm

I learned that in this kinda sub weather my usage jumps around 5-7 lbs more per tending & that cabin fever kicks in around mid Feb. :clap: toothy

titleist1

Post by titleist1 » Fri. Feb. 20, 2015 10:32 pm

I also learned that if you don't leave enough time to unload all the wet coal from the trailer you will have a coal iceberg the next morning. :doh: