Am I Wrong Here

General energy and coal related topics, news and basic information. If you do not know where to post your topic post it here.
User avatar
scottshotgun
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri. Jul. 19, 2013 4:18 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska channing 3 /Coal-trol
Coal Size/Type: rice
Other Heating: Propane boiler/ baseboard
Location: hanover pa
Contact:

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 1:53 pm

Two appliances on one chimney,, now this goes ageist everything i'm told
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embe ... rULts#t=12


User avatar
anthony7812
Member
Posts: 4851
Joined: Sat. Mar. 12, 2011 2:04 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: VanWert VA 400
Coal Size/Type: Buck/Anthracite
Location: Colley,Pennsylvania

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 1:59 pm

It can be done, just not legally. If something where to god forbid go wrong, no insurance company would ever pay out worse yet you could be held accountable depending on the situations.
Anthony

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11366
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 2:20 pm

We should find the guy that hooked that up and ask him what he was thinking. Oh wait, it was me. :oops:

I have spoken about this at length in other threads, but the long and short of it is that there is nothing wrong with multiple appliances per flue, the issue is when one of them is a "solid fuel appliance". When you hook a wood burner into the same flue as an oil or gas unit, and there is a chimney fire, the fire can draw air through the other appliance and its draft control. Anthracite does not create creosote or cause chimney fires, and actually requires a draft control of its own...but the code does not distinguish between wood and anthracite. If it were two oil boilers, the concern would be the size of the piping and flue. This particular chimney handles both boilers firing without issue, but since the video was filmed 3 years ago I have changed the flue piping arrangement and controls so that only one boiler can be used at a time.

Pacowy
Member
Posts: 2748
Joined: Tue. Sep. 04, 2007 10:14 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: H.B. Smith 350 Mills boiler/EFM 85R stoker
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/anthracite
Location: Dalton, MA

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 2:24 pm

Rob's too fast for me.

AFAIK even in the code the issue is not the number of appliances connected to a chimney, but rather the sharing of a flue by appliances that burn different fuels. When we bought our house there were two big boilers that shared a flue by connecting to a single smoke pipe "trunk line". I was assured by a licensed master plumber that this set-up was safe and lawful, as long as both boilers run on the same fuel.

Mike

User avatar
anthony7812
Member
Posts: 4851
Joined: Sat. Mar. 12, 2011 2:04 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: VanWert VA 400
Coal Size/Type: Buck/Anthracite
Location: Colley,Pennsylvania

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 2:25 pm

Rob R. wrote:This particular chimney handles both boilers firing without issue, but since the video was filmed 3 years ago I have changed the flue piping arrangement and controls so that only one boiler can be used at a time.
:clap: My thoughts are if it can be done safely and by someone who know what the hell they are doing then hey good for them, glad to here you added the interlock, we do enjoy your time here.. at least from time time anyway toothy :doh:
Anthony

User avatar
dcrane
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 3115
Joined: Sun. Apr. 22, 2012 9:28 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 404
Location: Duxbury, MA./Hanson MA./Brockton, MA

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 2:32 pm

Pacowy wrote:Rob's too fast for me.

AFAIK even in the code the issue is not the number of appliances connected to a chimney, but rather the sharing of a flue by appliances that burn different fuels. When we bought our house there were two big boilers that shared a flue by connecting to a single smoke pipe "trunk line". I was assured by a licensed master plumber that this set-up was safe and lawful, as long as both boilers run on the same fuel.

Mike
well those clearly don't run the same fuel (one is oil, one is coal)... Im not so sure that can be done in MA. (I'd have to ask a Code enforcement authority).
Either way, that looks like one sweet set up and we all know Rob is well attuned just about everything regarding heating his home and coal burning so I have no doubt it all functions wonderfully ;)

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11366
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 2:35 pm

I never said it was code...it definitely is not. Don't bother asking anyone in MA, the chimney gestapo will arrive in minutes and take your stove.

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8304
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 3:09 pm

If hooking two appliances to one chimney, wouldn't the inactive appliance feed the chimney draft and ruin the draft for the appliance that is in use? Or must you isolate the inactive appliance so that can't happen?


User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11366
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 3:20 pm

It depends. In this case the oil burner is a Riello unit with an air shutter that closes when not in use.

btrowe1
Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun. Aug. 24, 2008 11:29 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska stoker 140 Coal
Stove/Furnace Make: alaska stove
Location: South Glens Falls ny

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 3:32 pm

That's why we live in upstate ny, just about anything is legal north of Albany..
When it's -20 below coal is the way to go.

Pacowy
Member
Posts: 2748
Joined: Tue. Sep. 04, 2007 10:14 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: H.B. Smith 350 Mills boiler/EFM 85R stoker
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/anthracite
Location: Dalton, MA

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 3:59 pm

Lightning wrote:If hooking two appliances to one chimney, wouldn't the inactive appliance feed the chimney draft and ruin the draft for the appliance that is in use? Or must you isolate the inactive appliance so that can't happen?
In our set-up each appliance has its own baro, so the draft at the appliance can be properly controlled.

Mike

franco b
Site Moderator
Posts: 8449
Joined: Wed. Nov. 05, 2008 5:11 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea
Location: Kent CT

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 4:18 pm

What Lightning was pointing out is the loss of draft through the unused appliance.A baro can't compensate for that, only excess draft. Rob stated his oil burner automatically closes it's air intake so would not be effected.

With a decent chimney I doubt there would be excess loss.

Pacowy
Member
Posts: 2748
Joined: Tue. Sep. 04, 2007 10:14 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: H.B. Smith 350 Mills boiler/EFM 85R stoker
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/anthracite
Location: Dalton, MA

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 4:25 pm

We have a decent chimney, so there is plenty of draft for both appliances. If you have low draft conditions to start with, I can see how isolating the unused appliance might be needed.

Mike

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11366
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 5:02 pm

Problem solved...I deleted the video.

User avatar
scottshotgun
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri. Jul. 19, 2013 4:18 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska channing 3 /Coal-trol
Coal Size/Type: rice
Other Heating: Propane boiler/ baseboard
Location: hanover pa
Contact:

Post Sun. Oct. 06, 2013 5:24 pm

Rob R. wrote:Problem solved...I deleted the video.
Bob,, you do have one nice/clean setup and for that I am envious,, sorry buddy


Post Reply

Return to “Coal News & General Coal Discussions”