Stove Size for 1650 Sq. Ft. Home

WJSlater
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Sr. & VERMONT CASTINGS VIGILANT 11
Coal Size/Type: Nut /Stove
Other Heating: Oil

Post by WJSlater » Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 5:55 pm

Hello, I am new to this forum and I am seeking advice, I have experience burning wood since the seventies but I have no experience burning coal. I have been researching coal since last year I have watched a lot of YouTube videos about it and I have been reading all the post on this site. I have to admit that I have thought about making the change to coal for years but it was watching William's experience with his Glenwood stove that pushed me over the edge. I live in Western MA, and my home is a 1650 sq ft cape, built in 1973, new windows last year, not an open floor plan, I have a full basement that was not included in the 1650 foot measurement . I have been watching Chubby sales and Antique parlor, cylinder and base-burner stoves, I am going to be installing the stove in my living room which measures 13.5 x 22.5 I want to make sure what ever I install doesn't blow us out of the room. I came install registers if needed.
Any help anyone can offer would be greatly apresheated.
Thank you
Bill

KLook
Other Heating: Wishing it was cold enough for coal here....not really

Post by KLook » Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 6:01 pm

Welcome to the forum. Many questions will follow from the people that can help you best. I will say the beauty of coal is that you can dial it down and not cook yourself out. Have fun and wait for the experts to come in.

Kevin

coalnewbie
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL AnthraKing 180K, Pocono110K,KStokr 90K, DVC
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Invader 2
Baseburners & Antiques: Wings Best, Glenwood #8(x2) Herald 116x
Coal Size/Type: Rice,
Other Heating: Heating Oil CH, Toyotomi OM 22

Post by coalnewbie » Mon. Sep. 02, 2013 6:12 pm