Tips to Use Least Amount of Coal

madesouz

Post by madesouz » Sat. Dec. 01, 2012 9:28 pm

Hello. This is my second posting on this website. I am fairly new to coal. Most of the time, the room in which the coal stove is in is at 81F. When I go on vacation, what advice would you give on using the least amount of coal. That is, just have enough heat to not have the house freeze, and also low enough where my hopper doesnt run out of coal for atleast 4 days. I have a Reading Coal stove(model: Allegheny). It has a 120 lb hopper. There are three things which I can manipulate. The blower knob(which operates how much heat is blown out), a spindle at the back (which operates how large the fire is), and an air intake knob (which is usually set on high when lighting the fire, and set to low when fire is burning). Any tips would be highly appreciated. Also, when I am burning coal with a lower width of fire, am I not burning my coal as efficiently?

btrowe1
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska stoker 140 Coal

Post by btrowe1 » Sun. Dec. 02, 2012 7:09 pm

Is this your only source of heat in your house? I am going away over Christmas also , Chicago Il, I am shutting down the stove and turning on my gas furnace. I have a 240 pound hopper,but would never leave for an extended period, that would be more than 1 night, and then I would be home very early the next day, a coal stove IMO is something that needs to be tended to, like a wood stove.

Ed.A
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Channing III/ '94 Stoker II
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by Ed.A » Sun. Dec. 02, 2012 7:20 pm

I could leave my Channing III and Stoker II for 2 days without worry of running out of fuel but I wouldn't, just because if there was a chance of a CO leak I'd never forgive myself if my Kids ( aka 2 Rotties and a Bengal Cat ) succumbed and I wasn't there to save them.

I've electric heat for those off times when I'm away for more than a day.

Greyhound
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 105