How Much Dust to Expect?

SSS33

Post by SSS33 » Mon. Aug. 27, 2012 10:43 am

I am new to heating with coal. I recently purchased the AK 110 to heat a 2700 sqft home. My wife is very concerned about the dust throughout the house. The unit will be installed in the basement and the return will either be tied directly to the cold air return from the existing heat pump, or I will use the cold air return I bought with the unit. Should I expect black coal dust to be all over everything?

Rob R.
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Jr

Post by Rob R. » Mon. Aug. 27, 2012 10:55 am

Assuming you aren't pulling air directly from the basement, dust shouldn't be a problem...you DO have a Hepa filter installed somewhere right?

Keeping the coal damp or having it oiled will also reduce/eliminate any dust from refilling the hopper.

freetown fred
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut

Post by freetown fred » Mon. Aug. 27, 2012 11:06 am

I have a hand fired right in my living area which I tend twice a day & with my taking my time topping off & carefully removing my ashes, I probably get more dust returning from the hay barn in the winter--NO black dust any where--do I dust? you betcha, but no more in the winter then in the summer--it's a trial & error process & by paying attention to advice I've gotten right here, I've pretty much gotten it down to an art--Did I trip over one of the dogs & almost drop my ash pan?? only ONCE--shot the dog & now I'm good--come on guys, that was Freetown humor ;)

Attachments

001.JPG
.JPG | 54.5KB | 001.JPG

coalnewbie
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL AnthraKing 180K, Pocono110K,KStokr 90K, DVC
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Invader 2
Baseburners & Antiques: Wings Best, Glenwood #8(x2) Herald 116x
Coal Size/Type: Rice,
Other Heating: Heating Oil CH, Toyotomi OM 22

Post by coalnewbie » Mon. Aug. 27, 2012 11:37 am