Harman 3000 Not Getting Enough Air?

Post Reply
caveman
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat. Feb. 28, 2009 9:17 pm

Post Mon. Oct. 17, 2011 8:20 pm

Hi another winter coming I fired up on sunday and my Harman wont burn rite the coal is burning all the way to the end of the grate but not making heat? It took 4 hours to get water to 160 I don't think it is getting enough air I have messed with thev flap in the end of the blower and it doesnt seem to change so I turned up my extra fan and it burned better but set off my co2 detector? The stove worked fine when I tore it down for summer help im lost . Blower is running and not making any noise like bad bearings.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11506
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Mon. Oct. 17, 2011 8:36 pm

Have you checked under the grates to see if there is a buildup of fines? Any chance the grates aren't sealed properly and the air is not going through the coal bed?

caveman
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat. Feb. 28, 2009 9:17 pm

Post Mon. Oct. 17, 2011 9:49 pm

Thanks for reply stove was clean . I tore it down in april for the summer . I think im going to call and have draft in chimney checked might have bird nest or who knows what . Since 1st post co2 alarm went off again so I put fire out.

franco b
Site Moderator
Posts: 8564
Joined: Wed. Nov. 05, 2008 5:11 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea
Location: Kent CT

Post Mon. Oct. 17, 2011 10:13 pm

caveman wrote:Thanks for reply stove was clean . I tore it down in april for the summer . I think im going to call and have draft in chimney checked might have bird nest or who knows what . Since 1st post co2 alarm went off again so I put fire out.
Seems like a draft issue to me too. You did the right thing in shutting down.


User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9904
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Mon. Oct. 17, 2011 10:26 pm

It is hard in this warm weather to get a good draft going, especially in a tight house. Did you try cracking a window near the appliance?

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6624
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Tue. Oct. 18, 2011 5:06 am

I know it seems clean but did you look under the grate to see if there is any build up? Did you pass a drill through each and every air hole in the grate? Checked all exhaust pipes for ash build up? Looked inside the squirrel cage of the blower to see if the fins are clogged with lint? If you put a mirror in the clean out of the chimney & look up, can you see sky? If you do not have an anemometer, it's time to think about getting one. It's the only way of knowing what your draft is.

caveman
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat. Feb. 28, 2009 9:17 pm

Post Tue. Oct. 18, 2011 5:23 pm

Thanks everyone problem is fixed. I think I will blame it on the earthquake. On the bottom of Harman firebox there is a slider to remove flyash when the stove is running. I put the shopvac in before putting grates back in but never looked under from ash pit. When I dumped ashes this am the plate was in the ashes. This was my air leak and pushing down instead of up through grates. So I have to say the earthquake must of made the bolt fall out and plate fall into ash bin over the summer. At least thats my story

Post Reply

Return to “Coal News & General Coal Discussions”