Outside Stoker

General energy and coal related topics, news and basic information. If you do not know where to post your topic post it here.
Post Reply
Coal Dog
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri. Aug. 19, 2011 5:11 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM
Stove/Furnace Model: 520

Post Fri. Aug. 19, 2011 5:53 pm

Hello coal burners,I have a efm 520 that I want to put in a out building about 130' from house.I was going to run underground and tie into existing electric boiler.$$$$$ through heat x and take two lines to feed a unit heater in out building that the stoker is in.I have no idea what controls are needed and what kind of piping schematic I need.Any info is greatly appreciated.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Fri. Aug. 19, 2011 6:13 pm

Welcome..Do some searching on here, there are a lot of people that have done this. You can search for DUAL BOILER PIPING and controls....etc...There are numerous ways of piping and controlling.

Also, do a google search for Dual Boiler Piping and controls. A lot of good info out there.
heres one...

Dual Boiler Plumbing and Wiring.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

User avatar
CoalHeat
Site Moderator
Posts: 8327
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959 EFM 350
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Magnafire Mark I
Baseburners & Antiques: Sears Signal Oak 15 & Andes Kitchen Range
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Fisher Fireplace Insert
Location: Stillwater, New Jersey

Post Fri. Aug. 19, 2011 10:59 pm

Welcome.

There's no place to install the boiler inside the house?
Heating a circa 1832 farmhouse with a Harman Magnafire Mark I & a 1959 EFM 350 (heating DHW).
100% Oil Free!
"It's what we learn after we think we know it all that counts."


Coal Dog
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri. Aug. 19, 2011 5:11 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM
Stove/Furnace Model: 520

Post Sat. Aug. 20, 2011 7:37 am

Thanks for the reply . I don't have a chimney and the room for it in the house I can also heat the out building if I put it out there. I'm having an issue with what kind of controls to put on it, burner timer and aquastat.

User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12712
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Sat. Aug. 20, 2011 11:25 am

You've looked at the cost of insulated pex?

http://www.pexsupply.com/Rhinoflex-H59804-1-1-2-x ... ipe-1-foot

That's 1 1/2 inch dual pipe. $36.45 a foot * 130 feet = $4700

The 1 inch is $23.85 *130 foot = $3100

If you can make room somewhere in the house you're in the same neighborhood of building a chimney unless you have some other plan for insulating it.
"The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits."

- Albert Einstein

User avatar
steamup
Member
Posts: 1209
Joined: Fri. Oct. 03, 2008 12:13 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman-Anderson AA-130, Keystoker K-6
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: HS Tarm 502 Wood/Coal/Oil
Coal Size/Type: pea, buck, rice
Location: Napoli, NY

Post Sun. Aug. 21, 2011 9:55 pm

Coal Dog wrote:Hello coal burners,I have a efm 520 that I want to put in a out building about 130' from house.I was going to run underground and tie into existing electric boiler.$$$$$ through heat x and take two lines to feed a unit heater in out building that the stoker is in.I have no idea what controls are needed and what kind of piping schematic I need.Any info is greatly appreciated.
You will need to do a little research. The heat exchanger would act like a second boiler to the house system. You would need to run a control line out to the coal boiler location to call for heat to make the system more efficient. You could pump it hot all of the time but that will waste energy.
Steamup

"You must learn from the mistakes of others. You can't possibly live long enough to make them all yourself."
Sam Levenson
"Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler."
Albert Einstein


User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11363
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Mon. Aug. 22, 2011 6:10 am

Why do you want to use a heat exchanger? As long as each system is "closed", you can tie them together. If you want to run antifreeze in one system and not the other, then the heat exchanger will be required.

Controls will be pretty simple: an aquastat such as a Honeywell L8124, and a Wil-burt or Internatic timer will get you started. Do you want a separate zone in your outbuilding? Depending on the size and insulation level of the outbuilding, the radiant heat off the EFM may be enough to keep it comfortable.

Coal Dog
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri. Aug. 19, 2011 5:11 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM
Stove/Furnace Model: 520

Post Mon. Aug. 22, 2011 9:40 pm

Hello
Thanks for all the feedback.I would like to get away from the heat x but have few ? on how to go about hooking up to my existing boiler.I would probably need another expansion tank in the building with the stoker and I don't know if I can use my pressure reducing fill valve in the house on my electric boiler. If I go with the heat x I know I would have to include these items .I have the manual from efm that shows the different controls and schematics but nothing on what I'm trying to do. the unit heater in the out building is a pretty nice unit with a control valve and a circulating pump. All advice is welcome.

User avatar
steamup
Member
Posts: 1209
Joined: Fri. Oct. 03, 2008 12:13 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman-Anderson AA-130, Keystoker K-6
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: HS Tarm 502 Wood/Coal/Oil
Coal Size/Type: pea, buck, rice
Location: Napoli, NY

Post Tue. Aug. 23, 2011 11:23 am

No second expansion tank. Only one expansion point for a common system allowed to have proper operation. If you tie the remote boiler in without a heat exchanger, you will need to make sure you expansion tank is large enough for the whole system.

The unit heater in the remote building adds a twist. It could be tied into the coal boiler as a zone but should have an air separation device on the loop. (but no expansion tank). Not good design but could work ok. Never isolate the coal boiler from the expansion tank while system is in operation.
Steamup

"You must learn from the mistakes of others. You can't possibly live long enough to make them all yourself."
Sam Levenson
"Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler."
Albert Einstein

Coal Dog
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri. Aug. 19, 2011 5:11 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: EFM
Stove/Furnace Model: 520

Post Tue. Aug. 23, 2011 5:03 pm

Hello
Thanks for the advice .I think hooking it up to my system is the way to go.I can then use my fill valve in the house and not have to run a water line to the stoker.

Post Reply

Return to “Coal News & General Coal Discussions”