Rice Coal Burners

Post Reply
coalnewbie
Member
Posts: 6239
Joined: Sat. May. 24, 2008 4:26 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL AnthraKing 180K, Pocono110K,KStokr 90K, DVC
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Invader 2
Baseburners & Antiques: Wings Best, Glenwood #8(x2) Herald 116x
Coal Size/Type: Rice,
Other Heating: Heating Oil CH, Toyotomi OM 22
Location: Chester, NY

Post Sun. Feb. 20, 2011 8:28 am

From my profile you see what I am burning. They are all good stoves and all burn rice but require electrical power. So my question to the group is there a manual stove that uses rice and that will carry on in a power outage and burn rice efficiently. I get a TT load of rice and get such a great deal but getting smaller piles of differing grades will dramatically increase my costs. Stoves of a smaller (or larger) output are fine. The latest rise in HO prices means now we wish to be a totally coal farm. It's the only way to stay afloat.

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5864
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Sun. Feb. 20, 2011 9:21 am

not enough air flow thru Rice without forced draft, Plus the rice would fall thru the grates of the hand fired stoves. I Don;t think there are any hand fed stoves that burn rice without power.... :(

Get a backup power supply or generator for your stove.

franco b
Site Moderator
Posts: 8564
Joined: Wed. Nov. 05, 2008 5:11 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea
Location: Kent CT

Post Mon. Feb. 21, 2011 4:31 pm

I think a Franco Belge stove could do it with the hopper set to the lowest position. The slots in the grate are 5/16 in width.


User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11498
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Mon. Feb. 21, 2011 4:37 pm

If you only need a small amount if pea/nut coal for emergency use, I would just buy a few tons and be done with it...or get a generator to run your stoker stoves.

Paulie
Member
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue. Apr. 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer
Location: MA, South Shore

Post Mon. Feb. 21, 2011 9:10 pm

Battery back up for short power outages, gen set for longer periods.

lincolnmania
Member
Posts: 855
Joined: Fri. Jan. 26, 2007 9:55 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: alaska kodiak stoker 1986. 1987 triburner, 1987 crane diamond
Location: Birdsboro PA.
Contact:

Post Mon. Feb. 21, 2011 10:51 pm

i have a hand fed stove in the shop for backup and nasty cold spells or just in case and I keep a small bin of nut coal next to that stove, you can burn small amounts of rice in a hand fed stove but you gotta have a good bed so it does not fall thru the grates .....i have a problem with kitties getting loose and using the giant litter box in the garage full of anthracite rice coal, so that gets scooped out and burned in the handfed stoves....anybody have any BTU calculations for cat poop?.........when the power goes out and someone is awake, we have just enough time to get the generator going and save the fire in the alaska (only got 5-8 minutes) the efm will stay lit for hours without power

Post Reply

Return to “Coal News & General Coal Discussions”