Coal Dummy...

Shellie_wnj

Post by Shellie_wnj » Thu. Jan. 15, 2009 9:52 am

For some reason, this didn't go through the first time - let's try again...

Hi. First of all, please go easy on me - this is my first time dealing with the coal stove and I have no prior knowledge of these things! In short, I am having to deal with the stove because the person who used to do it no longer lives with us - and we're COLD! :oops:

I have a Harman stove, I believe its a III. It could be a II, who knows. I have been reading on here, but I honestly don't understand a lot of what is said, I think some of it is "technical terms" when I am fire stupid :? I see some people poke the fire from underneath, I can't seem to figure out how to do that, and also some of you leave the stove going for 12 hours, I can't get mine to last more than three if I don't shake it and feed it. And I can only feed it a small layer at a time or it goes out.

It went out overnight last night. To make a long story short - I have been left with no kindling, no firewood and no knowledge of fire, with three little ones under age 5. The stove is downstairs in the basement, so I don't have a lot of time to play with it. I need to get it lit - any suggestions? How long would small twigs and branches take to dry? I also rescued some scrapwood from outside, but it was buried under a layer of snow - I can't burn that right away either.

If I were to go out and purchase something to help me light the fire, what would you suggest? I read firelogs are no good in a stove - anything else? THANK YOU.
Shellie

gambler

Post by gambler » Thu. Jan. 15, 2009 10:22 am

Where are you located?
Maybe a forum member lives close and can come over and show you how to light the stove and keep it going.

I see your stove is a handfired one. So maybe our resident handfired,blabber fingered guru Devil will show up. He should be able to talk you through this. He is a pretty good guy.