The Hesitant TLC 2000

Granite Burner

Post by Granite Burner » Wed. Dec. 31, 2008 11:00 pm

I have been burning coal for about 7 years, and for the last 2 years I have been using a new TLC 2000 that I bought from my local dealer. All has gone well with the TLC up till recently. After burning for about 6 weeks this year, the performance of the stove has changed significantly. Most notably, upon reloading fresh coal, the blue flame is smothered and takes an hour or two to relight. I have found this to be true in weather ranging from 5F to 45F. I shut down the stove and inspected the exhaust pipe but found that it was clean. My current hypothesis is that the coal itself is some how different than what I am accustomed to burning. I think the coal may contain less volatile matter. This causes the new coal to act as a heat sink and requires an hour or two for it to get hot enough to evolve flammable gasses. By the same effect, I imagine that the coal which is currently lit cools enough to the point where the gas evolution slows and the flame dies. The other characteristic which I have observed is that once the blue flame does eventually return as an initial flicker, opening the ash pan door causes the flame to go out. I think this is because the gas mixture is too rich in oxygen and not enough fuel. In the past, opening the ash pan door would cause the fire to burn robustly. Does this sound familiar and do you have any suggestions??

zeeklu

Post by zeeklu » Thu. Jan. 01, 2009 6:15 am

When you shut down did you clean out the stove? My TLC2000 likes to get choked with ash unless I shake it down really well once in a while .I also have a small piece of steel that I poke up through the bottom until all the grates are clear.Welcome to the forums, Chris

Granite Burner

Post by Granite Burner » Thu. Jan. 01, 2009 7:44 am