Us Stove Fixes Here

wnyjim

Post by wnyjim » Mon. Dec. 15, 2008 12:40 am

I am starting this post to have a place to post things that did and did not work trying to get your US Stove working as it should.
These were never intended to burn Anthracite but they will burn it but you gotta earn it.

Please post what worked for you as well as what didnt. I have been working on mine about a month now.

Here is a list of the weaknesses I can think of right now.

Poor air flow up through the ash door

Some have drilled extra holes in their ash doors others have added blowers.

So far I am burning mine with the door open about an inch. (Possible to over fire your furnace doing this) For me it has been working and I don't see a diffrence in this or drilling more holes in the door.
When I figure this out I may drill a hole or add a blower. I don't want to make a perminant change just yet.

Again I am far from an expert and someone may find what I did was the wrong way so feel free to comment.

Grates

The grates are cheesey at best (Made in China) and need to be handled with care. If you have new ones then season them first. Here is a procedure I found online.

All cast iron should be seasoned before using in a normal coal or wood stove fire. This can be done two different ways. The first way is three to five small kindling fires in the stove. These fires should be small and in between each fire the stove needs to cool completely. The second way for seasoning cast iron is taking the new piece of cast iron and placing it into your oven. Starting the oven temperature at 325º and then every 30 minutes go up 25º until the oven reaches its highest temperature. (usually 500º) Do not touch the cast iron is will be HOT. Let the part cool, After all of the steps are done you are ready to start burning your stove

Especially important I would think with the grates we have in these stoves.

Tie them together.

The front and rear grates have alot of slop in the connection between them.