New Load of Coal, Yellow/Blue Flame?

kzad

Post by kzad » Thu. Nov. 27, 2008 9:13 am

This is my first year with coal, I started out by burning a dozen bags of blashek, no problems. Picked up a half ton of no name, store bagged from a local supplier, seemed to burn the same as the blashek. So I ordered 6 tons more. I just had it delivered last weekend, and am on my second bag. I notice I seem to get a yellow-blue flame out of this coal, as opposed to the nice blue flames I was getting from the last load. It also seems to be a lot dustier, with (so far) a few pieces of wood per bag. Any idea what could be giving me the yellow-blue flame, and is it anything I should be concerned about?

dtzackus
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar LCC

Post by dtzackus » Thu. Nov. 27, 2008 11:26 am

I believe the wood and other non coal items in the coal are giving you the yellowish/orangish flames. Since I am new at this, I might be mistaken, but when I add some pea coal (which is mixed with pieces of wood, grass clipping and other related non coal items) I get some yellow and orange flames till it is burned off.

Dan

VigIIPeaBurner
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker Koker(down)
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vermont Casting Vigilant II 2310
Other Heating: #2 Oil Furnace

Post by VigIIPeaBurner » Thu. Nov. 27, 2008 11:51 am

Dan's idea is the same as mine. It's the other carbonatious stuff in the charge that gives the yellow flame. The blue is from the coal gas, mostly methane, bruning off and the yellow is longer chain carbon burning off like you see in a wood fire. I even had a half ton of caol that burned witha red flame. Normal gray/white ash, but red flames instead of blue. It burned well but didn't give off the same ammount of heat. I'd like some of that lower BTU stuff for the early spring/late fall!

grizzly2
Other Heating: Oil foilfurnace, Jotul#3 woodstove,electric base board.

Post by grizzly2 » Thu. Nov. 27, 2008 10:56 pm