CO Detector Location, Baro/Manual Damper Setup.

Modern and vintage hand fired coal stove are similar to a wood stove and in some cases can burn either. They need to be regulated and fed by hand usually every 12 to 24 hours depending on your usage. They require no power to operate making them ideal for rural settings with long power outages.
Post Reply
Jeffb227
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon. Oct. 20, 2008 11:23 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Vermont Castings/Dutchwest
Stove/Furnace Model: Federal Airtight

Post Thu. Nov. 13, 2008 2:22 am

Ok, read every post on this topic and still have a couple questions. First off, I'm very new to coal, starting my second season so am still very pink in the middle. I am currently burning a dutchwest airtight coal/wood stove. I haven't had the best of luck, last year my longest burn was about 5 days. I chaulked that up to the stove being a great wood stove, not so great coal stove so this year I was able to get a Chubby, which friends of mine rave about. This is my question; I have burnt wood all my life in both an open fire and stoves and never had a damper. I have a manual damper now which I'm guessing at but have no idea how to regulate. When I install the Chubby I intend on putting a baro damper in as well as a manual and most likely leave the manual open until I figure things out. However, I have one CO detecter about 25 feet from the stove in a hallway on the same floor (I have a typical split level ranch with the larger foundation). Should I install another CO2 detecter closer to the stove or am I good. Also, anyone with a Chubby, let me know if you have any hints, etc. that will help me out. Thank you, Jeff
P.S. to Dallas, GregL, JPete, Coaledsweat, Richard S., WoodnCoal and everyone else that took the time to post, I read every post completely and knowing that I am a new guy at this I appriciate all your knowledge, thank you for your help and hopefully I can chime in one day

rberq
Member
Posts: 5015
Joined: Mon. Apr. 16, 2007 9:34 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine 1300 with hopper
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Anthracite Nut
Other Heating: Oil hot water radiators (fuel oil); propane
Location: Central Maine

Post Thu. Nov. 13, 2008 7:02 pm

My CO detector instructions specifically said not to place it too close to the stove. I assume that's to avoid false alarms. So I have one detector about 25 feet away, in the same room as the stove. The second detector is about 17 feet from the stove, in the bedroom, about 3 feet from my head while I sleep. So whatever I am breathing, it is too.
Simple answers for simple minds.

Jeffb227
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon. Oct. 20, 2008 11:23 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Vermont Castings/Dutchwest
Stove/Furnace Model: Federal Airtight

Post Sun. Nov. 23, 2008 6:29 pm

Looking for a little advice. I am hooking up my dutchwest federal airtight in my second fireplace. So far I am having very good luck with the Chubby except it doesn't throw the heat the dutchwest did, but it stays buring. My dutchwest never had a baro damper and has a huge 8" stove pipe that I had to crush down to about 5-6" just to get it through my damper. I want to install a baro damper but could never fit an 8" in there. Is there any problem with using a reducer to a 6" just outside of the back of the stove and keeping 6" through the baro and up the chimney. I'm not sure if reducing causes an problems or not so any advice would be very much appriciated. Thanks, Jeff

BM-80
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon. Oct. 20, 2008 8:43 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: 983 insert
Location: N.E. Connecticut

Post Sun. Nov. 23, 2008 10:41 pm

While on the subject of CO Dectectors...

I know nothing about them except that I know I need one. I noticed that most models plug DIRECTLY into a wall outlet. Since most wall outlets are only 12-18 inches above floor level, is that okay? I guess that maybe I assume that since smoke detectors are mounted high, then CO dectectors should also be high. Am I wrong? Whats the rule of thumb on this?

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6606
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Mon. Nov. 24, 2008 5:18 am

It never hurts to have two CO detectors, I'd reccomend it. Placement isn't as important as with a smoke detector. CO mingles with the air very well. 18" off the floor is fine.

Reduce at your own risk. I think they don't recommend it, but I'm guessing as long as you have proper draft it might be OK. You'd have to have a monomometer and have it before the reducer to know. Perhaps more experienced people will chime in with better knowledge.
Orrington, Maine
Fred

"If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all".

wfd.lt
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed. Jul. 02, 2008 11:46 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: 503
Location: Mass.

Post Mon. Nov. 24, 2008 9:33 am

I don't know how many states have CO detector regulations, but I can speak to the one in Mass. Here CO detectors are required on each floor that has living space. They need to be within 10 ft of bedroom doors. Thus, if bedrooms are separated, more than one would be required to meet the 10 ft distance on that floor. The fire regulation doesn't specify one in the room of the appliance, except in the case of an unvented propane heater. What is happening is utility companies are requiring them, such as the gas company requiring one over a gas burner/boiler to cover themselves. So putting one in the room with your stove would be wise, but not required here. I've got one in mine, plus one in the next room. The location on the wall or ceiling doesn't matter. As you found, they plug in, and there are plain battery powered as well which can be mounted anywhere. Any electric powered one must have battery backup. CO has roughly the same density as air, so it's not going to automatically rise to the ceiling or hug the floor. It will just mix with the air and follow the air flow. Hope all that makes sense, it's longer than I intended!

caper1175
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun. Oct. 05, 2008 6:34 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Viking Jr.
Location: Nova Scotia (Cape Breton), Canada

Post Mon. Nov. 24, 2008 1:29 pm

I have mine plugged into an outlet in my furnace room about 4-5 feet away from my coal boiler. I've not had any alarms to date. Here is the model I have:
Last edited by caper1175 on Sat. Apr. 01, 2017 1:11 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: <removed dead link>

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5849
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Mon. Nov. 24, 2008 1:33 pm

I have a CO detector Plug in Digital behind Keystoker and reading 000, I have moved to the other side of the room closer to the ceiling and still nothing (that is a good thing). and I have one mounted on the ceiling in the basement above the LL Hyfire, I have the LL one go off if I open the door too long (10-20 seconds,) it is very sensitive.

And one in the living room and one in the hallway near the bedrooms. Can;t be too careful. 2 are battery and 2 are plug in.
- Dave
Hyfire I & Keystoker 90K heating an 1890 Victorian
- Amsoil Authorized T1 Certified Dealer

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Mon. Nov. 24, 2008 3:41 pm

My daughter is burning coal in a new Harman TLC & a new masonry chimney this year & I guess I instilled safety pretty well with her..........She has FIVE CO detectors in the house!! (3 in the unfinished basement with the stove & 2 upstairs!!! :lol: :lol: :devil: (she has 4 smoke/fire alarms too)
War is a game that is played with a smile. If you can't smile, grin. If you can't grin, keep out of the way till you can.
Winston Churchill
Shaking & Poking The TLC2000 Video

User avatar
SuperBeetle
Member
Posts: 1340
Joined: Sat. Dec. 15, 2007 1:22 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark II
Coal Size/Type: Pea, Nut, & Stove Anthracite
Location: Gettysburg, PA

Post Mon. Nov. 24, 2008 4:07 pm

I have one CO detector mounted on the wall 6 feet from the stove and about 6 feet high on the wall. It actually did alarm a month or so ago because I was stupid and THOUGHT the fire had gone out (which I wanted) but it didn't. I never checked it to see for sure. I instead assumed. It was very warm outside at the time. Luckily, we were here at the time so no harm to any of the animals or anything. I can say that assumption is the mother of all f*ck ups. :oops:
Last edited by SuperBeetle on Mon. Nov. 24, 2008 4:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
" A well regulated militia being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the People to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed" -- 2nd Amendment to the United States Constitution....
IT AIN'T ABOUT HUNTING Two to the chest............one to the head. The Mozambique Drill :rambo3:

- John

BeerMonley
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon. Aug. 11, 2008 8:39 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Lesiure Line
Coal Size/Type: rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Lesiure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Lake Winola PA

Post Mon. Nov. 24, 2008 4:28 pm

cant comment on the baro as I don't have one (yet) b ut the way I see it as far as co2 dectors go it cant hurt to have 2 many, I have 2 downstairs (where the stove is) and 3 upstairs.

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”