Can Improper Shaking Cause Ash to "Bind"?

HeartnCoal

Post by HeartnCoal » Fri. Nov. 21, 2008 9:43 pm

Hey all, This is my first year burning coal. I've been getting the coal fires started using wood and burning it down to a good bed of coals. I poke and rake the wood coals to a nice thick even bed. Then with the fill doors and ash pan doors open, I load the coal in to the top of the fire brick. I'm guessing about 25 lbs. I then close the fill doors and leave the ash pan door open and watch the coal as it sizzles with an occasional POP. Within a minute or two, blue flames shoot up between the fence and the windows I'll let go for about a minute more then close the ash pan door.(then 15 seconds of being fascinated with the dancing blue flames) I adjust the vents and try for a stack temp of about 350 degs. It will "cruise" set like that for at least 14 hours. Now the shake down part......at first I would shake only when I would bank the stove in the morning and the evening. I'm using a method of shaking that I learned off of the forum here and that is to open the ash pan door leaving the fill doors closed. Reason being that the fly ash will go out the chimney. I am noticing that with each shake down that the ash is getting more difficult to shake through the grate until about the 5th shake down (2days after starting the fire) that it won't shake through the grate at all and will go out within a couple hours leaving a BUNCH of half burned coal. My question is...Is it possible by shaking the grate the way I have been that the fine fly ash is being force up into the ash bed and thereby "clogging it up" and binding it so that it wont fall through the grate when shaking it?