Alaskan Kodiak

mzig1

Post by mzig1 » Thu. Nov. 20, 2008 11:32 pm

Hey everyone, anyone out there have any experience with an alaskan kodiak? having a bitch of a time getting it running!

dd412

Post by dd412 » Thu. Nov. 20, 2008 11:36 pm

check out my tips a few minutes ago- maybe there's something in it that will help
dd412

lincolnmania
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 350
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: reading allegheny stoker
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: alaska kodiak stoker 1986. 1987 triburner, 1987 crane diamond
Coal Size/Type: rice

Post by lincolnmania » Fri. Nov. 21, 2008 2:16 am

is this the kodiak stoker or the hand fed stove?

JJLL
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Harman SF-360 Boiler

Post by JJLL » Fri. Nov. 21, 2008 11:23 am

I've got a Kodiak, post your questions or send me a private message. I've been running mine for two years. Its a nice stove.

jpd989
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line WL110
Hand Fed Coal Stove: D.S. Machine Basement Stove #3
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat and Chestnut

Post by jpd989 » Fri. Nov. 21, 2008 11:42 am

I have an old hand fired Kodiak, runs great. If you have a hand fired pm me if you want.

ray in ma

Post by ray in ma » Fri. Nov. 21, 2008 2:58 pm

I think it defeats the purpose of the thread if everybody PM's everybody else, although on the surface it might not seem like a significant question, I too just installed a Kodiak and am having difficulty with the learning curve. I grew up on wood and kind of expected coal to be similar, but it is quite different.
A couple of lesson's I've learned very quickly after having to re-start 4 times in the same week when I began to use it a couple of weeks ago.
In this case patients is not a virtue, it is a requirement

1) Don't wait untill the coal is almost all burned before adding new coal
2) Pea coal is easier to start than nut but no where near as hot or lasts as long
3) Don't shake it down just because you think you should
4) Fill and let it cach before shaking