Hitzer 983 Info

woodyb

Post by woodyb » Thu. Oct. 30, 2008 8:04 pm

Hi, I currently have Harman Magnafire insert that I have been using for 10 years. The insert is probably about 20 years old and starting to deteriorate. So I was considering replacing with a Hitzer 983 insert. I was hoping to get some feedback on positives or negatives of the Hitzer 983. Thanks

baldeagle

Post by baldeagle » Fri. Oct. 31, 2008 9:44 pm

We have the Hitzer stoker insert, it is super - burns about 36 hrs on lowest draft setting. Quite clean with little to no dust
(we use a +/- $40 Hitzer ash tote of the correct size dumping the ashes after they cool). Our other Hitzer has an automatic draft control which is very nice, but it is freestanding - with the insert this is not possible. Used about 3 tons of coal each the last two seasons - zero problems. Good Luck, baldeagle

BM-80

Post by BM-80 » Sat. Nov. 01, 2008 1:28 am

I just got a 983 insert...I LOVE it. I also considered the 503 (which has a hopper system). There is an excellent thread entitled "503 installation photos" which has lots of information about the 503. Except for the info specific to the hopper, this thread is VERY helpful to the operation of the 983.
There a a few differences between the two: the 983 does not have a hopper, but has a much larger firebox and has three grates instead of two (I believe the individual grates are interchangable and are probably the same part number). The 983 takes an eight inch flue/flex pipe and the 503 takes a six inch pipe. Also, the 983 is rated for approx 25,000 more BTU. But remember, only the 503 has the hopper. The outside dimensions are within about an inch of each other with the 983 being slightly larger.