Can I Use Anthricite in My Hot Blast 1500?

wnyjim

Post by wnyjim » Sun. Oct. 26, 2008 9:43 am

I have a used Hot Blast model 1500 wood coal furnace.It came with the house and I needed chimney work to use it safely. I am almost finished with relining my chimney and ready to burn some coal. My book says Bituminus coal egg size or larger. From what I have read here Anthracite is the way to go. Will it hurt to try Anthricite? What is the diffrence to the stove? Will it ruin it or just not burn right? I am really new at this so thanks for any help.

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Sun. Oct. 26, 2008 12:57 pm

Depending on your chimney, quality of coal available, and patience learning the quirks of the US stove 'Hot Blast'.. you may have luck with your furnace..

There have been several members who have had good luck burning anthracite in these units, and also a few who gave up..

This thread is very helpfull, do a search for US Stove, Clayton, Hot Blast and Hotblast..

Successfully Burning Anthracite Coal in a Clayton Furnace

Let us know how it goes for you.

Greg L

BIG BEAM

Post by BIG BEAM » Sun. Oct. 26, 2008 7:16 pm

Hi wnyjim
I have been burning a hotblast for 3 years now with nut size anthracite.It's a little finicky with nut coal.I think it'll be much EZer with stove coal.I tried mine with stove coal but I think the quality of the stove coal I had was poor.The shaker grates don't shake down that well with coal but with a little modification they work.Maybe they will work better with stove coal.If you need any help just post your questions.

I'll give you a quick rundown of what I did to mine so it would run well on nut coal.

Ground down grates so the shake down was EZer.

Installed an adjustable fan and limit switch...$ 75.00