Trouble Keeping Coal Stove Buring

Modern and vintage hand fired coal stove are similar to a wood stove and in some cases can burn either. They need to be regulated and fed by hand usually every 12 to 24 hours depending on your usage. They require no power to operate making them ideal for rural settings with long power outages.
wpkm
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 10:14 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Morso
Stove/Furnace Model: 1410 coal

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 10:18 pm

Hi All,

Just bought a Morso 1410 coal stove. About 6th time lighting it up but only burns for about 2 hours hot, then slowely dies.

1) I lay lump charcoal on bottom,
2) Add coal slowly
3) All vents open
4) See the blue flame
5) Add more coal
6) After an hour, blue flame gone and center fire red instead of hot yellow.
7) Slow death.
8) Not sure what I am doing wrong.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12707
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 10:24 pm

Are you filling t up as much as you can once it gets going? A coal fire needs a deep bed of coal in a hand fired stove.
"The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits."

- Albert Einstein

bksaun
Member
Posts: 966
Joined: Sat. Oct. 28, 2006 9:24 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Hybrid, Gentleman Janitor GJ-6RSU/ EFM 700
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 503
Coal Size/Type: Pea Stoker/Bit, Pea or Nut Anthracite
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer/ EFM-Gentleman Janitor
Stove/Furnace Model: 503 Insert/ 700/GJ-62
Location: Hustonville, Ky

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 10:45 pm

Do not open the top vent, all the air has to come from underneath the coal bed.

Are you sure you bought the coal model 1410, they make one for wood too?

BK
"Corn Stoves", It is morally wrong to burn something you can make into Whiskey!

BK

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Thu. Oct. 23, 2008 6:08 am

Is this your stove?
**Broken Link(s) Removed**
I don't see an ash pan or shaker mechanism. Maybe you can't burn anthracite in it....Just Bit?
War is a game that is played with a smile. If you can't smile, grin. If you can't grin, keep out of the way till you can.
Winston Churchill
Shaking & Poking The TLC2000 Video

wpkm
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 10:14 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Morso
Stove/Furnace Model: 1410 coal

Post Thu. Oct. 23, 2008 9:55 pm

Thanks for everyone's reply

1) Yes, I filled the stove to the top of the heat sheilds, approx 6 inches from grate to top of heat shield. I even had blue flames coming from the top during the first hour.

2) I did have the top and bottom vent open full at all times. Manual stated top vent open to keep window clean.

3) Yes, It is the the coal version, shaker is bottom right, small rod with hole to attach a handle to shake the ash.

4) Perhaps I need to adjust the venting. I want it to burn hot all the time, so I figured open vents full all the time. Am I wrong?

Thanks,

User avatar
EasyRay
Member
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu. Nov. 16, 2006 8:44 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman TLC 2000
Coal Size/Type: Pea,Nut or Stove
Location: Central Connecticut

Post Fri. Oct. 24, 2008 9:56 am

bksaun had the answer for you. Close the top vent and adjust from underneath the coal.
Regards, Ray

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7385
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Fri. Oct. 24, 2008 12:12 pm

Use the under the fire air vents only.. The top vents are for burning wood..

If you look at the design of made-for-coal-only stoves, they don't even have top vents.. only air vents for under the fire..

Let us know how you are doing..

Greg L.
Burning Pea/Buckwheat through an antique stoker [semi retired SSboiler],
Running an Axeman-Anderson 260M boiler burning Pea, About 150-250#per day
Farming, Fixing, Fabricating and Flying: 'spare time' what's that?

wpkm
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 10:14 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Morso
Stove/Furnace Model: 1410 coal

Post Tue. Oct. 28, 2008 6:50 pm

Hi All,

Well I tried using the coal stove again with the top vent closed and the bottom vent wide open. Outside air temp 55 degrees, hot bed of charcoal, added pea anthracite, had a good blue flame going for about an hour, then the slow death again. Guy at work told me each piece of coal will get a layer of ash and suffocate unless shaken. I have not been shaking the grate. Should I? I thought only twice a day.

Thanks,

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
rockwood
Member
Posts: 1371
Joined: Sun. Sep. 21, 2008 7:37 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Stokermatic coal furnace
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Rockwood Stoveworks Circulator
Baseburners & Antiques: Malleable/Monarch Range
Coal Size/Type: Soft coal: Lump and stoker (slack coal)
Location: Utah

Post Tue. Oct. 28, 2008 7:24 pm

I don't know of any stove that needs a shake an hour after lighting.
Maybe someone could chime in who has this particular stove.

Tell us about your chimney.
The fire may not be getting enough air through it because of a chimney problem.
"None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free." -Goethe

wpkm
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 10:14 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Morso
Stove/Furnace Model: 1410 coal

Post Wed. Oct. 29, 2008 7:39 pm

Chimney is in center of house, clay lined, fireplace and furnace have their own clay liners. All three are separted by the clay liners. Nothing really else to say about it, 6 inch pipe. Also house is 18 yrs old, first time this part of chimney has been used.
Attachments
DSCN4094.JPG
Chimney is in center of house, separte clay lined, fireplace and furnace have their own clay liners.
DSCN4162.JPG
chimney

User avatar
CoalHeat
Site Moderator
Posts: 8327
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959 EFM 350
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Magnafire Mark I
Baseburners & Antiques: Sears Signal Oak 15 & Andes Kitchen Range
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Fisher Fireplace Insert
Location: Stillwater, New Jersey

Post Wed. Oct. 29, 2008 7:42 pm

How tall is the chimney and where did the coal come from (brand/source,etc.). Also your location please. We'll figure it out.
Heating a circa 1832 farmhouse with a Harman Magnafire Mark I & a 1959 EFM 350 (heating DHW).
100% Oil Free!
"It's what we learn after we think we know it all that counts."

wpkm
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 10:14 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Morso
Stove/Furnace Model: 1410 coal

Post Wed. Oct. 29, 2008 7:57 pm

Hi,

The coal is in 40Lbs bags , company is Blaschak coal corp from Mahanoy city, PA. Anthracite pea size. Chimney is approx 30ft. I live in northeastern massachusetts.

thanks,

User avatar
Uglysquirrel
Member
Posts: 1160
Joined: Mon. Jan. 07, 2008 8:27 pm
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono

Post Wed. Oct. 29, 2008 8:18 pm

Is your basement cleanout door fully closed/locked/sealed ? Check to make sure theres no way air could enter this area. I'm looking for anything that could reduce the draft.

User avatar
Uglysquirrel
Member
Posts: 1160
Joined: Mon. Jan. 07, 2008 8:27 pm
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono

Post Wed. Oct. 29, 2008 8:26 pm

BTW, nice home you have. Is the pipe going into the flue sealed all around with cement ?, we're dealing with low drafts with these +50 degrees days and any leak would not help the draft especially with pea since the pieces are so close together compared to nut. Also, your home seems to be quite new and I would not bee to surprised if you have very low air infiltration. Open a nearby window 2-3" and try to burn it again, you may need some sort of dedicated air inlet especially since it seems your stove is on the first floor. Hope this helps. Bruce

User avatar
coalkirk
Member
Posts: 4681
Joined: Wed. May. 17, 2006 8:12 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1981 EFM DF520
Coal Size/Type: anthracite/rice coal
Location: Forest Hill MD

Post Wed. Oct. 29, 2008 8:30 pm

wpkm wrote:Hi All,

Just bought a Morso 1410 coal stove. About 6th time lighting it up but only burns for about 2 hours hot, then slowely dies.


The problem appears to be that you bought a wood stove. While the website page for this stove mentions coal, the manual clearly states several times that this is a wood burning stove only.
You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life. Winston Churchill

"I would rather have a German division in front of me than a French one behind me." —General George S. Patton

Burning rice coal in a 1981 EFM DF520, nut coal in a hand fired Jotul 507.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”