Problems With Stove

matrix5089
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue. Oct. 21, 2008 2:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Elmira
Stove/Furnace Model: oval

Post Tue. Oct. 21, 2008 2:20 pm

I have a Elmira Oval cooktop coal stove. I seem to be having a problem getting a good coal fire burning. I have been doing some research and believe it is due to my flu but im not sure. I have 7 inch stove pipe coming out of my stove going into my flu wich measures 7x11. Can I reduce the size of my stove pipe to 6 inch and add a chimney liner? Do you guys think this might help. Also the stove is a wood burning stove with a swap of the grates if I reduce it will I still be able to burn wood?
Last edited by matrix5089 on Tue. Oct. 21, 2008 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7384
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Tue. Oct. 21, 2008 4:20 pm

Please post some photos of the flue setup, the stove and the firebox.. 'a picture is worth a thousand words.' It will help us help you.

Usually the problem is that the stove has air leaks around the loading door, and the stove sections.. letting air in above the coal fire.. Coal has to have ALL the air enter from below and feed the fire through the grate..

Greg L

matrix5089
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue. Oct. 21, 2008 2:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Elmira
Stove/Furnace Model: oval

Post Tue. Oct. 21, 2008 5:05 pm


**Broken Link(s) Removed**
This is a link for the manual for the stove. I have air vents in the front loading door to allow air in above the coal in the manual it says to keep these open for coal and closed for wood.

matrix5089
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue. Oct. 21, 2008 2:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Elmira
Stove/Furnace Model: oval

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 10:58 am

just wanted to give a update ive been burning in the stove for about 16 hrs now it burning slow and putting out very low heat stove pipe temp is about 100* but it is heating. Went to stove shop near me owner said I need to get chimney liner but I would'nt be able to fit a 7 down my chimney I would have to downsize to 6 and if I did that I would'nt be able to burn wood in it anymore. Another stove shop said I might have bad coal so I am going to get a bag from another place and try that first. I will keep posting.

User avatar
Dallas
Member
Posts: 743
Joined: Mon. Nov. 12, 2007 12:14 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Modified Russo C-35
Other Heating: Oil Hot Air
Stove/Furnace Make: Russo
Stove/Furnace Model: Modified C-35
Location: NE-PA

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 11:42 am

matrix5089 wrote: **Broken Link(s) Removed**
This is a link for the manual for the stove. I have air vents in the front loading door to allow air in above the coal in the manual it says to keep these open for coal and closed for wood.
That doesn't sound correct to me. Typically, for coal burning, the air should be entering under the coal. Any air coming in above the coal, will dampen the fire down (it won't burn as hard).

While you are there to keep an eye on things, try closing the air above the coal and open the air below the coal, with pipe damper open, if you have one.

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7384
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 11:55 am

matrix5089 wrote: **Broken Link(s) Removed**
This is a link for the manual for the stove. I have air vents in the front loading door to allow air in above the coal in the manual it says to keep these open for coal and closed for wood.
This is exactly OPPOSITE of what works.. close the air above the fire, and use only below the fire air for coal..

Look at the design of made for coal only stoves.. they don't have any air vents except for BELOW the fire..

The only time you may want a very little air above the fire is for about 15 minutes after a fresh load of coal is added.. Or if you are burning Bituminous coal.

Greg L

User avatar
Dallas
Member
Posts: 743
Joined: Mon. Nov. 12, 2007 12:14 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Modified Russo C-35
Other Heating: Oil Hot Air
Stove/Furnace Make: Russo
Stove/Furnace Model: Modified C-35
Location: NE-PA

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 12:08 pm

Greg, I'm glad you finally picked up on that. I was waiting for you, but you didn't say anything. :?:

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7384
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 12:36 pm

Hi Dallas, I can't answer every post, although sometimes it looks like I do. [ my post count is embarassing at times]

I'm not sure what you were waiting for me to 'pick up' on.. maybe the small amount of over fire air? Or that the directions were opposite to the known way to burn anthracite... I flew all last night, so I was off the internet.

Anyway, I think once the over-fire air is reduced or eliminated, the stove will burn better.

Greg L.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
rockwood
Member
Posts: 1371
Joined: Sun. Sep. 21, 2008 7:37 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Stokermatic coal furnace
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Rockwood Stoveworks Circulator
Baseburners & Antiques: Malleable/Monarch Range
Coal Size/Type: Soft coal: Lump and stoker (slack coal)
Location: Utah

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 11:25 pm

LsFarm wrote:Please post some photos of the flue setup, the stove and the firebox.. 'a picture is worth a thousand words.' It will help us help you.
matrix5089, Pictures would still help and also details about the chimney, how tall, does it run up through the house, is it taller than the entire house etc.

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Thu. Oct. 23, 2008 6:17 am

LsFarm wrote:[ my post count is embarassing at times]
You think YOUR post count is embarrassing?!?! :oops:

My kids are always telling me I need a life! :lol:

(I had one of those years ago........Took way to much time away from my coal stove!) :devil:

38* outside
71* at computer
68* upstairs
(No fans running now but will turn stove blower back on soon)

matrix5089
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue. Oct. 21, 2008 2:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Elmira
Stove/Furnace Model: oval

Post Thu. Oct. 23, 2008 9:03 am

the chimney is about 25ft tall it is inside the house and extends about 5ft off of peak the flu size is 7xll I will try to get some pictures later trying to get my camera working. what tempetures do your stoves usually run at on the stove and on the flu pipe?

matrix5089
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue. Oct. 21, 2008 2:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Elmira
Stove/Furnace Model: oval

Post Thu. Oct. 23, 2008 1:07 pm

just picked up a dwyer 25 going to install today. I saw in another post that you can leave these installed in the pipe all the time because the tubes were made of silicone is this true even if you burn wood in there and have higher stove pipe temps?

User avatar
Cyber36
Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Mon. Oct. 29, 2007 1:53 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Marathon/Logwood
Location: Byron NY

Post Thu. Oct. 23, 2008 1:28 pm

If your gonna leave the Dwyer hooked-up full time, I suggest switching out the plastic tubing with stainless brakeline.....

matrix5089
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue. Oct. 21, 2008 2:02 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Elmira
Stove/Furnace Model: oval

Post Thu. Oct. 23, 2008 3:51 pm

Ok dwyer 25 is hooked up and with the stove cold it barely moved I used a hair dryer and warmed the flu for 10 minutes and it moved up to little over .01. Tempeture outside is 44 and inside house is 60.

User avatar
Dallas
Member
Posts: 743
Joined: Mon. Nov. 12, 2007 12:14 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Modified Russo C-35
Other Heating: Oil Hot Air
Stove/Furnace Make: Russo
Stove/Furnace Model: Modified C-35
Location: NE-PA

Post Thu. Oct. 23, 2008 3:58 pm

Where is your stove located? Basement? Is there a good combustion air source? If not a good air source, blow some air down the steps to see what it does for your draft.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”