How Do You Get a Full Fire Box?

greentjdude
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon. Jun. 23, 2008 11:03 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Russo
Stove/Furnace Model: C-80
Location: Gouldsboro, PA

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 8:39 am

i got the temp on the top of the stove to stay around 300. when I fill it all the way up it drops to about 200 or a little less. I do have a blower on it. my airflow isnt the best in the house. I have 2 floors above the basement and no vents cut yet. (thats another project) the stoves air is aimed directly at the central located stairs and I leave the door open. I can feel the heat exchange in the stairs, hot coming up the top and cool going down the bottom. its about 80 in the basement, 65 first floor and 60 on the second. (very comfortable sleeping, for me anyway) the stairs to the second floor are open so I cant realy block that off to change the airflow. its 34 outside right now.

im basically just "salting" the fire every hour or 2 to keep the stove at 300. still learning...... my first vent whenever I get around to it is probably gonna be in a remote corner on the first floor with a fan pulling cool air to the basement.

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 9:38 am

greentjdude wrote:i got the temp on the top of the stove to stay around 300. when I fill it all the way up it drops to about 200 or a little less.
The amount of coal you put in your stove does not limit the heat output except when you first load it. Load it up all the way (to the tops of the fire brick) & just give it enough air to maintain the temp you need. (think of it this way: If you kept ypou ash door open, you'd get plenty of heat :lol: ....You may even start a fire!

Trust me....this will work:
1.Open you ash door
2. wait for the fire to liven up
3. Fill your stove all the way up
4. Leave the ash door open until the temp is where you want it , (say 300*) (Be patient!)
5. open your air control a bit more than usual
6. close the ash door
7. check the temp after 15 minutes. If it's dropped below 300* open your air controls a bit more (you just have to find what air inlet setting will maintain your 300*....this will vary slightly with draft)

Let us know how this works

(if it doesn't work .......... you must be on a different planet than the rest of us....... :lol:
On EARTH.....This will work!! :lol: :lol: )

In case I have not made my point (by being to subtle)...let's try this:

FILL YOUR STOVE UP!! :bang: :lol:

greentjdude
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon. Jun. 23, 2008 11:03 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Russo
Stove/Furnace Model: C-80
Location: Gouldsboro, PA

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 11:35 am

UNCLE!

i filled it and now im back up to 450. its still only 36 and windy out so im gonna leave it there for now. not sure how long it took to get it there but I filled it 2 hours ago and left the door open for 15 minutes before closing it up.

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 1:06 pm

greentjdude wrote:i filled it and now im back up to 450
Congrats!! :up: :up: :devil:

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
Cyber36
Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Mon. Oct. 29, 2007 1:53 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Marathon/Logwood
Location: Byron NY

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 1:50 pm

Devil505 wrote:
greentjdude wrote:i got the temp on the top of the stove to stay around 300. when I fill it all the way up it drops to about 200 or a little less.
The amount of coal you put in your stove does not limit the heat output except when you first load it. Load it up all the way (to the tops of the fire brick) & just give it enough air to maintain the temp you need. (think of it this way: If you kept ypou ash door open, you'd get plenty of heat :lol: ....You may even start a fire!

Trust me....this will work:
1.Open you ash door
2. wait for the fire to liven up
3. Fill your stove all the way up
4. Leave the ash door open until the temp is where you want it , (say 300*) (Be patient!)
5. open your air control a bit more than usual
6. close the ash door
7. check the temp after 15 minutes. If it's dropped below 300* open your air controls a bit more (you just have to find what air inlet setting will maintain your 300*....this will vary slightly with draft)

Let us know how this works

(if it doesn't work .......... you must be on a different planet than the rest of us....... :lol:
On EARTH.....This will work!! :lol: :lol: )

In case I have not made my point (by being to subtle)...let's try this:

FILL YOUR STOVE UP!! :bang: :lol:
Devil, step #3 should be shake for all the newbies............

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Wed. Oct. 22, 2008 1:52 pm

greentjdude wrote:i filled it and now im back up to 450.
That's pretty hot! Do you really need to run it that hot already? (you will never get really long burn times witn a sustained stove temp of 450*....Oops....I'm assuming that's a magnetic stick-on themo temp, right?....If it's a probe temp.....Never Mind! :oops:

greentjdude
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon. Jun. 23, 2008 11:03 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Russo
Stove/Furnace Model: C-80
Location: Gouldsboro, PA

Post Thu. Oct. 23, 2008 9:52 am

its a stick on reading 450 right in the middle on the top of the stove. the one on my flue pipe reads about 140-150 but thats after the baro....im thinking I should move that to before?

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Thu. Oct. 23, 2008 10:12 am

Cyber36 wrote:Devil, step #3 should be shake for all the newbies............
I was writing this assuming that he had already shaken down, as the problem seemed to be filling the stove completely after shake down. If the stove hadn't been shaken down already then you are absolutely right...Step 2.5 should be shake down.
Last edited by Devil505 on Thu. Oct. 23, 2008 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Thu. Oct. 23, 2008 10:18 am

greentjdude wrote:its a stick on reading 450 right in the middle on the top of the stove. the one on my flue pipe reads about 140-150 but thats after the baro....im thinking I should move that to before?
Yes, move the one on the stove pipe to before the baro. (after the baro will give you a cooler reading due to mixed in room temp air)

This time of year, (for my house) I typically run my stove between 130*-200* on my mag. stack thermo.

Roughly like this:
Daytime: 120*-130*
Evening: 160*-200*
Bedtime: Back to 120*-130*

BIG BEAM
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri. Jan. 25, 2008 9:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: USS Hot blast
Stove/Furnace Model: 1557M
Location: upstate NY

Post Thu. Oct. 23, 2008 7:43 pm

I open the ash door for 5 mins.rev it up.Shake the hell out of it.Add what ever coal I'll need for 12 hrs.(25-75 lbs) Ash door still open.When the coal has a lot of blue flames set the air for what I need and walk away.The only time I vary from this is when I use Superior coal I'll leave a little spot burning as to light off the volatiles.If I don't it'll go BOOM all at once.The fire drops down for maybe 20 mins then it's off and running. With Superior it lights up FAST 5 or 10 minutes.
DON

User avatar
maurizziot
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun. Oct. 05, 2008 1:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure line Coal Stove
Stove/Furnace Model: Pioneer rear vent
Location: Middletown N.Y.

Post Thu. Oct. 23, 2008 8:26 pm

get yourself a red head and there you go 8-)

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”