Harman With Loose Glass

evancopp

Post by evancopp » Thu. Sep. 18, 2008 1:55 pm

Hi. I am a newbie who just bought a used Harman Mark III that is 3 years old and in great shape except for surface rust (it was stored outside for over a year).

My question is about the glass front on the door. It sort of floats in the frame - I can move it a slight distance in every direction. Is this normal? I understand there is an oxygen wash system over the glass, so I am thinking that it shouldn't be fixed tight in place, but I wanted to ask the experts here. Do I need a new gasket? How much (if any) play should there be with the glass?

Thanks for your answers and for this great forum.

k9 Bara
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1996 EFM 520 DF
Coal Size/Type: Buck / Reading

Post by k9 Bara » Thu. Sep. 18, 2008 2:11 pm

Im a newbie, but that glass should be tight to avoid CO2 probs. I have a Harmon, has cap headbolts to tighten the glass, mine is tight. I did go over everything to be sure even though it was new. I even re-cemented the grates, lol. Wait for other post, some smart mo/fo's here, but thats what Im thinking.

Steve.N
Location: Crown Point, NY East side of the state about 130 miles above Albany

Post by Steve.N » Thu. Sep. 18, 2008 3:40 pm

The glass in the doors of the MK series of Harman's should not be loose but fit snug in the gasketing around the upper three sides of the door. the bottom of the glass is not gasketed and provides above the fire air. I am debating putting a hand damper control like the one on the door on mine and sealing the glass tight so that I have better control of the draft.

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Thu. Sep. 18, 2008 4:49 pm