Settings on a Kozy King 300....???

KozyKingOhio
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Kozy King 300
Coal Size/Type: nut
Other Heating: 90% wood 10% coal

Post by KozyKingOhio » Fri. Jan. 27, 2023 6:43 am

I am new to burning Santa Clause nut coal. Getting ready to burn anthracite for just the second time ever......
Anyone with a Kozy King 300? How often do you shake? Do you have the ash door spinner shut, or open a little?
How open is the gap in the shield on the little draft motor controlled by the thermostat? (Mallard 5 farmhouse says open all the way for coal.) I think DS says open around a 1/2".
The last time I burned coal, I think I didn't shake it hard or long enough. The fire was good for about 3 days and then suffocated itself out. (I think?)
Once you get a good fire going, how often do you add coal? Just morning and night???

Any advice or thoughts would be appreciated! :D
Thanks

Lightning
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Modified AA 130
Coal Size/Type: Pea Size - Anthracite

Post by Lightning » Fri. Jan. 27, 2023 6:09 pm

I don't have a Kozy King, but I did run a hand fed furnace for 8 years successfully. I'd be happy to help answer some of your questions.
KozyKingOhio wrote:
Fri. Jan. 27, 2023 6:43 am
Once you get a good fire going, how often do you add coal? Just morning and night???
A "normal" tending schedule is about every 12 hours. In a big stove that should be more than plenty. A "good fire going" should be at least 8 inches deep at its shallowest point, mounded 10-12 inches deep in the center. In a bigger sized furnace that could be 100 to 120+ pounds of coal.

When you shake the ashes at 12 hours, shake until you see a few orange embers falling into the ash pan. After leaving the ash pan door open for a few minutes you should see an orange glow radiating down into the ash pan. Then add coal to bring the level back up to where you started with.