Other Heating: Oil

Post by Samgeorge » Sat. Mar. 19, 2022 9:04 pm

Has anyone added a air spinner on a hetzer 354 to burn wood better

billdean
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 254
Coal Size/Type: Nut/Pea Anthracite
Other Heating: Propane

Post by billdean » Mon. Mar. 21, 2022 11:11 pm

I have the Hitzer 254 which I had been burning for a couple of years with wood. It does a pretty good job. It creosote up the glass and chimmey pretty bad. A lot of that was caused from a bad choice of wood and Choking it down too much. To answer your question I haven't put spinners on my 254 but would be interested to hear the results of anyone that has also.

Hoytman
Location: swOH near a little town where the homes are mobile and the cars aren’t
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 354
Coal Size/Type: nut coal
Other Heating: electric, wood, oil

Post by Hoytman » Tue. Mar. 22, 2022 12:09 am

I doubt anyone here has tried it or you would have seen a response by now.

I do know that a Hitzer 55 spinner came be had for about $15 because I bought one to add to my 354 ash pan door (no vents).

I do plan to add secondary burn tubes to the inside of my 354 just for burning wood. Just haven’t done it yet, but it’s still in the works...although I don’t know why. With nut coal I can rarely turn my stove up hotter than 350 most of the time. Not nearly hot enough to maintain a decent wood fire with going to creosote city.

That’s my situation with adding secondary burn tubes...

...but it could still be done and used when burning coal.

That said, I realize many 354 owners have a need to burn their stoves much hotter than I do, but I said that I o say this...