Hitzer 254 help

billdean
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 254
Coal Size/Type: Nut/Pea Anthracite
Other Heating: Propane

Post by billdean » Sun. Mar. 13, 2022 9:21 pm

I am not new to the Hitzer 254. This is my second one. Initially I purchase one while living in Healy, Alaska. Healy's coal mine was in my back yard so coal was not a problem, though it was Sub-Bituminous and lignite. The 254 handle it well and had know problems with it except for some clinkers and lots of ash.

Now I live in Michigan and purchased the Hitzer 254 for my home here 6 years ago. I mostly burnt wood up until now. I am burning Anthracite nut and pea coal . Wood just got to be way too much work. I don't seem to have a problem burning the coal. Its burns just fine as I have some experience burning coal though Anthracite is different. My question is more on on what I have been observing the stove doing.. I am tending the stove once ever 24 hour. I am getting long burn times with about 32 pounds of coal every 24 hours. My Hitzer 254 has a blower on it. I have noticed when I turn the blower on it seems to inject air into the fire box. Does it? I don't know, but it sure seems like it does. It's not instance but after 15 or 20 minutes the coals really picks up the burn rate. Maybe this is normal. I don't really no. It doesn't seem to effect burn times. When I shut the fan off the glow of the coals goes back down after 15 or 20 minutes. Anyone experience anything like this?

oliver power
Stoker Coal Boiler: KEYSTOKER Kaa-2
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93 & 30-95, Vigilant (pre-2310), D.S. 1600 Circulator, Hitzer 254

Post by oliver power » Mon. Mar. 14, 2022 6:55 am