Hotblast Furnace Firebrick With Thins ?

Modern and vintage hand fired coal stove are similar to a wood stove and in some cases can burn either. They need to be regulated and fed by hand usually every 12 to 24 hours depending on your usage. They require no power to operate making them ideal for rural settings with long power outages.
Post Reply
BIG BEAM
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri. Jan. 25, 2008 9:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: USS Hot blast
Stove/Furnace Model: 1557M
Location: upstate NY

Post Mon. Aug. 11, 2008 7:38 pm

I have a hotblast hot air funnace.It came from the factory with thin firebrick 1.25 ins.If you look at the way they fit it looks like the firebrick should be twice as thick.When I first got the furnace 3 yrs ago I replaced the thins with full size firebrick and ran the furnace.It didn't seem to run much different so I put the thins back in. I didn't know what I was doing but looking at it again it just looks like it should have full size firebrick,so I put them in and seems like the ash won't have as much space to sit in the firebox.The bricks end right at the teeth of the grate so to speak.Has anyone else tried using full size firebrick in their hotblast furnace?These are the cheap ones from TSC.
DON

User avatar
North Candlewood
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun. Dec. 09, 2007 9:00 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Eshland S-130
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 120
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Clayton 1602
Baseburners & Antiques: Princess Atlantic Cookstove
Coal Size/Type: Nut Rice
Location: Ct

Post Mon. Aug. 11, 2008 8:05 pm

Don
I have the clayton 1600 and put in full sized fire bricks,really they are refractory bricks from a glass furnace. Because of their size 9X12 aprox. they eliminate a good part of the taper in the firebox. I also used regular firebrick to add to the height of the firebox. Mostly seeing if a deeper bed of coal added benifit in this unit. I just got today more of the standard firebrick from TSC with the idea of makin a wedge for behind them to stand the stock ones with less taper. I feel I had better heat output from the thinner ones. The furnace itself works fine for the $$$ you spend. Working on getting a stoker furnace or boiler for the house and then put this unit in the barn.
Bogie

Visit Hitzer Stoves

BIG BEAM
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri. Jan. 25, 2008 9:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: USS Hot blast
Stove/Furnace Model: 1557M
Location: upstate NY

Post Mon. Aug. 11, 2008 9:21 pm

Bogie,
I know by using thicker firebrick you will reduce the volume of coal you can get in the furnace.But you're going higher up in the chamber to make a deeper fire,interesting.I'm going to try the full size brick in the fall,I may have to change them in the winter(back to thins).I don't have any trouble with mine with the thins just thought I'd try something different.I've been very happy with my hotblast,you just have to learn what it likes.GOOD COAL.And shake the h#ll out of it.
Thanks DON

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”