Do I Need to Install a Damper

Modern and vintage hand fired coal stove are similar to a wood stove and in some cases can burn either. They need to be regulated and fed by hand usually every 12 to 24 hours depending on your usage. They require no power to operate making them ideal for rural settings with long power outages.
Post Reply
User avatar
cf1
Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:43 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Gibraltar
Stove/Furnace Model: insert
Location: north east ohio

Post Mon. Aug. 11, 2008 3:56 pm

im going to install a hitzer 503 insert, do I need the barometric damper?

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Mon. Aug. 11, 2008 4:04 pm

cf1 wrote:im going to install a hitzer 503 insert, do I need the barometric damper?
I had one on my original stove & installation but removed it years ago as I didn't see any benefit, in my case.
That being said, I think most members here will advise in favor of one.
If this is your first stove/installation, for the very little money they cost I would probably recommend one, but see what others have to say.

(LOL...How's that for a definite maybe??) :lol: :lol:
War is a game that is played with a smile. If you can't smile, grin. If you can't grin, keep out of the way till you can.
Winston Churchill
Shaking & Poking The TLC2000 Video

CapeCoaler
Member
Posts: 4428
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 3:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Post Mon. Aug. 11, 2008 4:14 pm

No place to locate a barometric damper if it is installed in a former fireplace.
The new 503 inserts have a built in damper. See my thread Hitzer 503 Arrives
I am not an engineer, train or otherwise!
I stay at a Holiday Inn at least once a year!
Most of all I do have common sense and a practical application of logic.
Oh, add humor, on the dry side, along with a wee bit 'o sarcasm.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
cf1
Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:43 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Gibraltar
Stove/Furnace Model: insert
Location: north east ohio

Post Mon. Aug. 11, 2008 5:15 pm

Ok now I understand, How about the flu pipe itself, you going to use stainless flex pipe? I don't thing theres any room to screw it down.

CapeCoaler
Member
Posts: 4428
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 3:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Post Mon. Aug. 11, 2008 6:41 pm

Plenty of room if you meet the dimensions for minimum size firebox from Hitzer's web site.
I am not an engineer, train or otherwise!
I stay at a Holiday Inn at least once a year!
Most of all I do have common sense and a practical application of logic.
Oh, add humor, on the dry side, along with a wee bit 'o sarcasm.

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”