Can I Comfortably Heat My Whole House With Only a Stove?

davelikesbeer

Post by davelikesbeer » Sun. Aug. 10, 2008 8:19 pm

So I admit it, I am new to coal. I grew up with wood heat, which I find is hard to keep consistent, especially in fall and spring, and very labor intensive. I've tried a pellet stove and found it to be unreliable as a primary heat source, and storing lots of pellets is a gamble. I strongly believe oil is never going to be afordable again. My oil burner is only 3 years old, so it is a good, reliable backup and hot water source, but I want to eliminate my dependance on oil.

So I bought a used, 1980's model Russo 1900 C off craigslist. I have to put this in the basement because of space availability on first floor among other reasons. My house is not too big, say 1500 square feet on two floors. built in 1900's, marginal insulation at best, but vinyl siding and newer windows (1990's). I plan to build insulated walls in the basement, and I already have loaded five tons of nut coal in an inside coal bin.

My questions are these, can I comfortable heat this North Central Gardner, Mass house with a stove? Do I need to install a boiler? How much coal should I expect to use in one year? Do homemade hotwater coils (mounted to outsides of stove) really work? Should I light the stove on the first cold day, and keep it going, or will I cook myself October and November? Are there any hardened coal veterans in my area who would be willing to let me see there stuff in action? I'd gladly bring the beer.

I've been reading everything I can on this forum for about a month now, and I firmly believe coal is for me. I also admit I know exactly enough to be dangerous, or to be an expert in my town of oil dependant fools. Any and all help, advice, and insights would be greatly appreciated?

Thanks in advance,

Dave :love: :beer:

Devil505

Post by Devil505 » Sun. Aug. 10, 2008 8:24 pm