How Much Coal to Buy

zeeklu
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun. Jun. 08, 2008 5:26 am

Post Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 2:58 pm

My Harman TLC 2000 stove was installed last week in the basement of my 1800 sq ft cape.I am going to put a duct from the blower intake to the second floor and registers on the first floor into the basement.There is an open staircase from the 1st to the 2nd floor. I am wondering how much coal I should buy to get me all the way through to spring. I am in NW N.J. Thanks,Chris

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 3:07 pm

I also have a TLC 2000 in a home roughly the size of yours. (2200SF split entry ranch) but just one floor above the stove.
I burn through just under 2 tons of Blaschak nut coal each year, which keeps the house between 68*-70* pretty uniformly. I'm not sure how much harder it is to heat a cape style home but I would guess you'd be pretty safe with maybe 3 tons?
(Buy more if you can afford it as it wont go bad & you can always use it the following winter)
Good Luck & welcome!

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6620
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 3:27 pm

Have you been hetaing with oil? How much oil do you use? A ton of coal is about equal to 180 gallons of oil.

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 3:39 pm

Freddy wrote:Have you been hetaing with oil? How much oil do you use? A ton of coal is about equal to 180 gallons of oil.
Too many variables to make it that simple Freddy.

zeeklu
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun. Jun. 08, 2008 5:26 am

Post Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 3:45 pm

Probably about 800 gallions but I also heat my hot water with it. Wow,talk about quick replies,this place is great. I was just taking a break from mixing cement for my coal bin and thought I would check in. I didn't expect a reply so soon. Thanks,Chris

User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12734
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 3:57 pm

Devils coal usage is very low. You'll need about 4 tons. If you intend on using it exclusively I'd get at least 5.

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 4:14 pm

Richard S. wrote:Devils coal usage is very low. You'll need about 4 tons. If you intend on using it exclusively I'd get at least 5.
After reading all the other members coal usage, I agree Richard. But.......that is the actual amount I use each year & my house is over 30 years old with just normal insulation, so I can't explain it myself?? (maybe it's because we are in a sheltered bowl & well protected from the wind??)

zeeklu
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun. Jun. 08, 2008 5:26 am

Post Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 5:24 pm

I am Definitely not protected from the wind.Our house sits on top of a hill and the wind never stops. It's nice in the summer though,we've only had the AC on 4or 5 days so far.What size coal do you guys recomend for a first timer? I was thinking nut size mostly because it will be harder to dump the fire while shaking.Harmon recomends pea or nut. Chris

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 5:32 pm

I have never used anything but nut in my TLC but other members here swear by a combination of nut (for cold days) & pea (for longer fires) I will try some pea coal this winter.

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9903
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Fri. Aug. 08, 2008 7:53 pm

The nut will be easier on your learning curve. ;)

zeeklu
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun. Jun. 08, 2008 5:26 am

Post Sat. Aug. 09, 2008 5:20 am

I guess I'll call Monday and have them deliver 4 tons this week and 2 more tons of nut coal next week.His truck only holds 4 tons. Thanks for all the help. Chris

User avatar
Adamiscold
Member
Posts: 1117
Joined: Fri. Feb. 29, 2008 7:09 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Chubby Sr. Old School
Location: Winchendon,Ma

Post Sat. Aug. 09, 2008 7:58 am

Richard S. wrote:Devils coal usage is very low.
I think him and the old lady walk around the house in snowsuits all winter long. ;)

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Sat. Aug. 09, 2008 8:04 am

Adamiscold wrote:I think him and the old lady walk around the house in snowsuits all winter long. ;)
Nope....The house was pretty much 72* downstairs & 68-70* upstairs! :D

User avatar
Adamiscold
Member
Posts: 1117
Joined: Fri. Feb. 29, 2008 7:09 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Chubby Sr. Old School
Location: Winchendon,Ma

Post Sat. Aug. 09, 2008 8:12 am

Nope....The house was pretty much 72* downstairs & 68-70* upstairs! :D
Are you wearing your glasses when you check the thermostat? :P

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Sat. Aug. 09, 2008 8:18 am

Adamiscold wrote:Are you wearing your glasses when you check the thermostat? :P
Hey.........I'll have to try that!! (maybe we are freezing but just don't know it??) :lol:

Visit Hitzer Stoves

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”