Hitzer 254

Slickheadhunter
Other Heating: Woodstock soapstone progress hybrid

Post by Slickheadhunter » Sun. Feb. 28, 2021 7:33 pm

Hello,
I’m new to the forum and looking for information regarding the Hitzer 254.
I live in southern NH west of Concord. My house is around 1400 sq ft open concept with cathedral ceilings, R19 insulation and double pane windows.
I’ve been heating my house solely with a wood stove since 1995 and have always felled,bucked,split and stacked my 4.5 cord every year. 4 cord for my house and half a cord for my hunting camp.
Well I’m 54 and I think I might be on the wood cutting decline.
We like the house in the mid 70’s and our Woodstock soapstone has no trouble whatsoever keeping it there even when it’s below zero! But as it gets warm which for that stove is anything above 25 it gets hard to have a “small” fire.
I know nothing about coal heating at all, to the best of your knowledge would the hitzer 254 be a good bet for my application?

Thanks so much

Hoytman
Location: swOH near a little town where the homes are mobile and the cars aren’t
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 354
Coal Size/Type: nut coal
Other Heating: electric, wood, oil

Post by Hoytman » Sun. Feb. 28, 2021 8:40 pm

Simply put, yes.