Researching Coal for 2500 Sq Ft Drafty Farm House

User avatar
CoalHeat
Site Moderator
Posts: 8332
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959 EFM 350
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Magnafire Mark I
Baseburners & Antiques: Sears Signal Oak 15 & Andes Kitchen Range
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Fisher Fireplace Insert
Location: Stillwater, New Jersey

Post Tue. Aug. 05, 2008 8:59 pm

BLOWER CONTROL 03-01-08.jpg

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Wed. Aug. 06, 2008 8:42 am

Nice set-up John........."We need more heat Mr. Scott!!"

" Aye .......Cap'n Kirk....Sending it up!"

(Is that thing rated for "Warp Speed"???) :lol:

4chapmanwetmore
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon. Aug. 04, 2008 9:26 pm

Post Wed. Aug. 06, 2008 9:22 am

Will I need a separate chimney from the one that the natural gas vents from for the coal stove or furnace?

If I choose to put the stove in the dining room can I pipe into the existing chimney that vents the natural gas furnace?

CapeCoaler
Member
Posts: 4469
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 3:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Post Wed. Aug. 06, 2008 2:48 pm

Each device needs a separate flue if they will be running at the same time. Disable the NG furnace and you can use that flue.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
CoalHeat
Site Moderator
Posts: 8332
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959 EFM 350
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Magnafire Mark I
Baseburners & Antiques: Sears Signal Oak 15 & Andes Kitchen Range
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Fisher Fireplace Insert
Location: Stillwater, New Jersey

Post Wed. Aug. 06, 2008 10:21 pm

(Is that thing rated for "Warp Speed"???)
Absolutely. :lol:

User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12754
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Thu. Aug. 07, 2008 3:45 am

The other option for venting which a lot of people are doing with single chimneys is getting a power vent for their existing system so they can hook the coal stove to the chimney. The smaller stokers can be power vented too but it has to run constantly. Between the maintenance and the added expense of always running it doing it with a coal stoker is not worth it IMO.

CapeCoaler
Member
Posts: 4469
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 3:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Post Thu. Aug. 07, 2008 8:40 am

Ng and a power venter would be a natural, no soot to clean off of the power venter blades or dirty the outside walls.

woodburner
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri. Jan. 26, 2007 8:12 pm
Location: Quakertown,PA

Post Wed. Aug. 13, 2008 9:58 pm

Hey,

I have an 1830's drafty farm house with the front being solid masonry with no insulation and the back being wood frame. I heat the beast with two stoves. The front has a vermont Castings resolute woodbutner and the back has a vermont Castings Vigilant II. I can keep the place warm even when the temp drops to single digits and since the insulation is so poor the coal can keep running until the end of March or the middle of April or until the temp is consistantly above 55 degrees.
Coal is great for long cold night but keep a wood option open for quick fires to take the chill off.
WB

Visit Hitzer Stoves

4chapmanwetmore
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon. Aug. 04, 2008 9:26 pm

Post Wed. Aug. 20, 2008 2:18 pm

My plan is to direct vent the gas furnace out of the basement and use the existing chimney for the coal stove which I am going to put into the dining room below the bedrooms that I most need heated.

The Chimney is over 100 years old as far as I know. Do I need to line the chimney? I have looked for good posts on chimney liners but haven't found the info I need. Any advice on lining a chimney is welcome. The Chimney is brick ad mortar and runs right up the center of the house and is totally encased in the walls.

Thanks again for all the input everybody

CapeCoaler
Member
Posts: 4469
Joined: Sun. Feb. 10, 2008 3:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Post Wed. Aug. 20, 2008 5:14 pm

It can be used but should be inspected for soundness. how big is the flue you are going to use?
Main page http://www.chimneylinerdepot.com/
Liner kit
**Broken Link(s) Removed**insulation kit
**Broken Link(s) Removed**

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9911
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Thu. Aug. 21, 2008 10:04 am

A chimney that old should have a cast in place liner, not S/S. It will strengthen the chimney, insulate it's flue and last forever.

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”