Coal smell??

430Lloyd
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Channing
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by 430Lloyd » Sun. Nov. 22, 2020 4:17 pm

Hello I have been running a Alaskan Channing for 8 years with no issues, and a wood stove 4 years prior. Now I have a Hitzer 82 and when ever the wind blows just right- the air flow reverses for a split second pushing out flue gasses into the house- just enough to smell and drive my wife nuts! I blocked off the barometric damper - increased my mono meter to .1 so I have draft just when the wind comes up......any ideas? Help the wife wants me to take it out and go back to rice!

Rob R.
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Jr

Post by Rob R. » Sun. Nov. 22, 2020 4:32 pm

Are you sure it is a draft reversal/stop and not a puff-back from the stove? Those stoves are notorious for coal-gas collecting above the coal and creating a "puff" when it lights off.

430Lloyd

Post by 430Lloyd » Sun. Nov. 22, 2020 4:46 pm

Well I’m not sure? I has standing by the barometric damper - a gust blew and I actually felt the heat come out the damper. I sealed it off, and the next gust blew back threw the intake.....

Lightning
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Modified AA 130
Coal Size/Type: Pea Size - Anthracite

Post by Lightning » Sun. Nov. 22, 2020 5:26 pm

430Lloyd wrote:
Sun. Nov. 22, 2020 4:17 pm
I blocked off the barometric damper - increased my mono meter to .1 so I have draft just when the wind comes up......
That doesn't seem like a reasonable solution. The baro is needed to keep the stove tame, otherwise your heat output may yo yo. Tell us about the chimney. Is it higher than the peak of your house? Do you notice the oder when the wind is blowing a specific direction??

There are chimney caps that help deal with wind influence.

430Lloyd

Post by 430Lloyd » Sun. Nov. 22, 2020 6:16 pm