Harman TLC-2000 Questions, Comments, Ramblings

Mantis
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman TLC2000
Coal Size/Type: Chesnut/Private mine IDK

Post by Mantis » Fri. Jul. 25, 2008 12:01 pm

Not another TLC thread! :P

While anxiously anticipating my new Harman I have a few questions for the current owners and would also like to get to know you all. I dropped a 500. Deposit on the last in stock TLC last week and pick it up the first or second week of August when I cash out my overtime hours. I’m 30yrs old, father of a 10month old boy. My girlfriend, son and I live in a 1000 sq ft log home plus loft and an almost finished basement ( the family room where the stove is going needs flooring, sheetrock and cultured stone behind stove location. I finished my “man cave” last fall. A 10X12 bow/gun workshop, fly tying room. It turned out beautiful. I’m a Firefighter and hobbies include bow hunting, fly fishing, mountain biking, boating, and among other things, soon to be coal shaking.

I’ve spent a lot of time reading through the threads and if I ask a question that’s already been discussed, my apologies.

First off, I’ve read where many don’t burn wood much in the TLC but I have a feeling I’ll be burning a few good wood fires now and then early in the fall. Nothing beets a good wood fire for looks and smell when the leaves are changing. All free wood and no pine I learned. My question is, can you remove the three bars in the front of the fire box for an unobstructed view of the fire? I see the wood burning TL-300 stove has two log cradles. Would I need to purchase something like that to keep the logs off the glass door? Are those three bars there to move air on the glass for cleaning?