Moving Heat

jonnoh

Post by jonnoh » Sun. Feb. 17, 2019 11:49 pm

Hi again, Thanks for the welcome back. I'm not a heat engineer. I've got a couple of questions that will prove that without a doubt. I know this has been addressed ad nauseam but I've been trying to think of and read about ways to get the heat up from the basement from a hand fired stove such as the Hitzer 82 or if I get a bit richer, a Glenwood base burner. I was thinking, and this is from memory only as I'm about 9000 miles from the house, that the square inches of my heat registers are greater than those of my return air registers. I was wondering if this is generally true for forced air systems compared to gravity systems. The heat registers are all on the perimeter of the house and generally under windows, whereas the cold air returns are generally centrally located. I would guess this was planned when the cost of oil was really cheap and heat output near where drafts are generated would increase the overall comfort level. Because of this, maybe I could remove (and neatly label and stack) all my duct pipes and install pipes from the current heat registers to the lower part of the basement making them the cold air returns and have the current return registers allow the heat to rise close to the centre of the house. Any input on that idea?